UK Politics

Stoke-on-Trent Central by-election: Candidates list

Stoke central Image copyright Getty Images

Voters go to the polls in Stoke-on-Trent Central on Thursday, 23 February to choose their next MP.

A by-election was triggered by the resignation of Labour Tristram Hunt, who had represented the seat since 2010.

Labour, which had a 5,179 majority in 2015, is fielding Gareth Snell as its candidate.

UKIP leader Paul Nuttall is running for his party, which came second last time around.

Polls open at 07:00 GMT and close at 22:00 GMT.

Here is a list of the candidates, in alphabetical order by surname:

  • Mohammed Yaqub Akram - Independent
  • Zulfiqar Ali - Liberal Democrats
  • Jack Brereton - Conservatives
  • The Incredible Flying Brick - Official Monster Raving Loony Party
  • Adam Colclough - Green Party
  • Godfrey Davies - Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Barbara Fielding - Independent
  • David Furness - British National Party Local People First
  • Paul Nuttall - UKIP
  • Gareth Snell - Labour