UK Politics

Brexit vote: How did your MP vote on the the bill?

MPs voted by 494 to 122 to back the Brexit bill in a second vote in the House of Commons. The bill now moves to the Lords.

The bill gives Theresa May the go-ahead to formally tell the EU that the UK is leaving, by triggering Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty.

Conservative and Labour MPs were again under orders to back the bill, while the SNP and Lib Dems were among parties whose leaders opposed it.

Use this postcode search to see how your MP voted and then scroll down to see a full list of MPs who rebelled against their party leader or who did not vote (either due to abstaining, illness or other factors).

Sorry, your browser cannot display this content.

Voting against

The Labour MPs to go against their party's three-line whip - the strictest instruction to vote - were:

  • Clive Lewis (Norwich South)
  • Alison McGovern (Wirral South)
  • Chi Onwurah (Newcastle upon Tyne Central)
  • Heidi Alexander (Lewisham East)
  • Rushanara Ali (Bethnal Green and Bow)
  • Graham Allen (Nottingham North)
  • Rosena Allin-Khan (Tooting)
  • Luciana Berger (Liverpool, Wavertree)
  • Ben Bradshaw (Exeter)
  • Kevin Brennan (Cardiff West)
  • Lyn Brown (West Ham)
  • Chris Bryant (Rhondda)
  • Karen Buck (Westminster North)
  • Dawn Butler (Brent Central)
  • Ruth Cadbury (Brentford and Isleworth)
  • Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley)
  • Ann Coffey (Stockport)
  • Neil Coyle (Bermondsey and Old Southwark)
  • Mary Creagh (Wakefield)
  • Stella Creasy (Walthamstow)
  • Thangam Debbonaire (Bristol West)
  • Stephen Doughty (Cardiff South and Penarth)
  • Jim Dowd (Lewisham West and Penge)
  • Maria Eagle (Garston and Halewood)
  • Louise Ellman (Liverpool, Riverside)
  • Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme)
  • Vicky Foxcroft (Lewisham, Deptford)
  • Mike Gapes (Ilford South)
  • Lilian Greenwood (Nottingham South)
  • Helen Hayes (Dulwich and West Norwood)
  • Meg Hillier (Hackney South and Shoreditch)
  • Rupa Huq (Ealing Central and Acton)
  • Peter Kyle (Hove)
  • David Lammy (Tottenham)
  • Rachael Maskell (York Central)
  • Kerry McCarthy (Bristol East)
  • Catherine McKinnell (Newcastle upon Tyne North)
  • Madeleine Moon (Bridgend)
  • Ian Murray (Edinburgh South)
  • Stephen Pound (Ealing North)
  • Virendra Sharma (Ealing, Southall)
  • Tulip Siddiq (Hampstead and Kilburn)
  • Andy Slaughter (Hammersmith)
  • Jeff Smith (Manchester, Withington)
  • Owen Smith (Pontypridd)
  • Jo Stevens (Cardiff Central)
  • Stephen Timms (East Ham)
  • Catherine West (Hornsey and Wood Green)
  • Alan Whitehead (Southampton, Test)
  • Daniel Zeichner (Cambridge)
  • Geraint Davies (Swansea West)
  • Kate Green (Stretford and Urmston)

Labour MPs who did not vote

  • Clive Efford (Eltham)
  • Fiona Mactaggart (Slough)
  • Seema Malhotra (Feltham and Heston)
  • Angela Smith (Penistone and Stocksbridge)
  • Chris Leslie (Nottingham East)
  • George Howarth (Knowsley)
  • Ian Mearns (Gateshead)
  • Margaret Hodge (Barking)
  • Pat Glass (North West Durham)
  • Roberta Blackman-Woods (City of Durham)
  • Sir Gerald Kaufman (Manchester, Gorton)
  • Gavin Shuker (Luton South)
  • Roger Godsiff (Birmingham, Hall Green)

One Conservative MP voted against

  • Ken Clarke (Rushcliffe)

Conservative MPs who did not vote

  • Sir Peter Bottomley (Worthing West)
  • Geoffrey Cox (Torridge and West Devon)
  • Nick Herbert (Arundel and South Downs)
  • Mike Wood (Dudley South)
  • Sir Roger Gale (North Thanet)

Liberal Democrat MPs who did not vote

  • Norman Lamb (North Norfolk)
  • Greg Mulholland (Leeds North West)

Related Topics

More on this story