Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

Glasgow 2014: Actor Brian Cox carries Queen's baton

Brian Cox Image copyright PA
Image caption Hollywood actor Brian Cox carried the The Queen's baton as it made its way to Rosslyn Chapel

Hollywood actor Brian Cox has carried the The Queen's baton as it made its way to Rosslyn Chapel in Midlothian.

The Queen's Baton Relay was on the third day of its tour of Scotland, ahead of the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

The baton is taking a 40-day trek round the host country - ending with the opening ceremony on 23 July.

The latest leg also took in Loanhead, Penicuik, Rosewell, Bonnyrigg, Newtongrange, Gorebridge, Mayfield, Easthouses, Newbattle and Dalkeith.

Cox, who has appeared in films including the Bourne Supremacy and is the current rector of The University of Dundee, was one of about 100 people carrying the baton on day three.

The baton finished its Midlothian tour in Dalkeith at about 18:20.

Bowls world champion David Peacock and female rugby player Rachel Law were among the Midlothian baton bearers.

Others included 85-year-old Burns Scott and young swimmer Jennifer Henderson.

Steven Waterston, a former soldier who volunteers and completes marathons despite a sensory-depriving neurological condition, and Colin Leslie, who represented Scotland in badminton after having a double amputation below the knees, are also baton-bearers.

The route included the Midlothian Snowsports Centre and the National Mining Museum at Newtongrange.

Events concluded with a celebration in Dalkeith Country Park.

Image caption The baton is due to finish its Midlothian tour in Dalkeith at about 18:20

The baton has travelled 118,000 miles and visited 70 nations and territories.

It contains a message from the Queen, which will be read out at the opening ceremony on 23 July.

The Queen's baton relay route:

  • 14 June: City of Edinburgh
  • 15 June: West Lothian
  • 16 June: Midlothian
  • 17 June: East Lothian
  • 18 June: Scottish Borders
  • 19 June: Dumfries and Galloway
  • 20 June: South Ayrshire
  • 21 June: East Ayrshire
  • 22 June: South Lanarkshire
  • 23 June: North Lanarkshire
  • 24 June: Falkirk
  • 25 June: Clackmannanshire
  • 26 June: Fife
  • 27 June: Dundee City
  • 28 June: Angus
  • 29 June: Aberdeenshire
  • 30 June: Aberdeen City
  • 1 July: Shetland Islands
  • 2 and 3 July: Moray
  • 4 and 5 July: Perth & Kinross
  • 6 and 7 July: Stirling
  • 8 July: Eilean Siar
  • 10 July: Orkney Islands
  • 11 and 12 July: Highland
  • 13 July: Argyll and Bute
  • 14 July: Inverclyde
  • 15 July: North Ayrshire
  • 16 July: East Renfrewshire
  • 17 July: Renfrewshire
  • 18 July: West Dunbartonshire
  • 19 July: East Dunbartonshire
  • 20 to 23 July: Glasgow City

A comprehensive list of towns the baton will visit each day in Scotland can be found on the Glasgow 2014 website.