Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

Edinburgh city centre 20mph zone drivers in penalty points warning

Zones Image copyright Edinburgh city council
Image caption The 20mph Traffic Regulation Order comes into force for the first zone on Sunday

Motorists will be given £100 fines and three penalty points if they are caught over the new 20mph limit in force in Edinburgh city centre from Sunday.

It is phase 1 of the rollout of a 20mph speed limit on all residential, shopping and city centre streets.

If cyclists are going too fast and unable to stop properly they would be charged with dangerous or careless cycling.

The Traffic Regulation Order comes into force at 00:01 on Sunday.

Rural west Edinburgh is also included in phase 1 with signs and lines for the new 20mph speed limit having been installed.

Large 20mph signs will mark the entrance and exit of a 20mph area.

These will be supplemented by smaller signs or road markings with speed limit roundels.

The 20mph network will be introduced over six phases.

Phase one of the £2.2m project covers much of the city centre, from Queen Street to the Meadows.

Lesley Hinds, Edinburgh's transport convener, said: "Slower speeds bring many benefits to the urban environment, making streets more people-friendly, promoting active travel (and thereby improving public health) and reducing the risk and severity of road collisions.

"The majority of Edinburgh residents support our 20mph scheme and we know that other local authorities in the rest of Scotland are closely monitoring our experience.

"Changing driver behaviour is not an overnight thing, obviously, and it will take a bit of time for it to become second nature.

"We'll continue to help people adapt to the new limit throughout the rollout, through awareness raising and education campaigns."

Ch Insp Mark Rennie, of Police Scotland, said: "We remain committed to casualty reduction on our roads and whenever we observe motorists disobeying the 20mph speed limit, or where the public tell us there is an ongoing problem, we will respond appropriately."

The rollout of 20mph speed limits across Edinburgh will be carried out in phases:

  • Zone One - City Centre and Rural West (South Queensferry, Kirkliston, Ratho, Currie and Balerno). Speed limit applies Sunday
  • Zone Two - North. Speed limit applies from 28 February 2017
  • Zone Three - Three South Central/East. Speed limit applies from 28 February 2017
  • Zone Four - North West. Speed limit applies from 31 July 2017
  • Zone Five - West. Speed limit applies from 31 July 2017
  • Zone Six- South. Speed limit applies from 31 January 2018

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites