Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

Edinburgh Comedy Awards shortlist announced

Randy Writes a Novell, Nish Kumar, Zoe Coombs Marr, Richard Gadd, James Acaster, Al Porter, Kieran Hodgson, Tom Ballard

The shortlist for this year's Edinburgh Comedy Awards has been revealed.

It includes James Acaster - nominated for the fifth year in a row - for his show, Reset.

Among the other eight nominees for best comedy show are Nish Kumar and Keiran Hodgson, who were both shortlisted last year.

The top comic will walk away with a cash prize of £10,000 after the winner is announced at the city's Dovecot Studio on Saturday night.

Michelle Wolf, Bilal Zafar, Brennan Reece, Nath Valvo, Jayde Adams and Scott Gibson have secured nominations for best newcomer.

The winner of that category will take home £5,000.

Best Comedy Show nominations

Al Porter - At Large

James Acaster - Reset

Kieran Hodgson - Maestro

Nish Kumar - Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout The Words Real Loud

Randy Writes A Novel

Richard Gadd - Monkey See Monkey Do

Tom Ballard - The World Keeps Happening

Zoe Coombs Marr - Trigger Warning

Nica Burns, director of the lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards said the two shortlists reflect the "breadth and quality" of comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe.

She said judges made more than 1,400 visits to shows during the festival in a bid to find the very best during a "brilliant year of comedy".

She added: "Four outstanding stand-ups, a female comic performing in character as Dave, a novel-writing puppet, a wonderful storyteller and a comic who is as moving as he is funny.

"An international list with four UK artists, three Australians and a Dubliner.

"The six nominees for the newcomer award are equally international with an Australian and an American, and the vibrancy of the Scottish stand-up scene is reflected in the nomination of Glaswegian Scott Gibson and the best show nominee, Richard Gadd."

Previous winners of the best show award include Al Murray - The Pub Landlord, Russell Kane and Rich Hall. Last year, Sam Simmons scooped the award for his show, Spaghetti for Breakfast.

And Roisin Conarty, Sarah Millican and Josie Long are among those who won the best newcomer award early in their stand-up careers.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites