Edinburgh, Fife & East Scotland

City of Edinburgh Council still unable to choose new leadership

City of Edinburgh Council

City of Edinburgh Council has been unable to form an administration to lead the local authority, three weeks on from the election.

A meeting on Thursday ended without an agreement.

However, the local authority has made temporary arrangements so urgent decisions can be made. Local services are continuing to operate as normal.

The SNP is the biggest party on the council but is well short of an overall majority.

The party has 19 councillors, compared to 18 for the Conservatives and 12 for Labour. The Greens won eight seats, with the Liberal Democrats on six.

It is unlikely a deal will be reached before next month's general election.

What about the other councils?

Aberdeen Council - Labour suspended nine councillors after they agreed a coalition deal with the Conservatives.

Aberdeenshire Council - A coalition of Conservative, Liberal Democrats and independent councillors will run the council.

Angus Council - Conservatives, Independents and Liberal Democrats form administration.

Argyll and Bute Council - Independent, Lib Dem and Conservative coalition

Clackmannanshire - The first meeting of the new council could not agree an administration. They will meet again on 1 June.

Dumfries and Galloway Council - A coalition between Labour and the SNP has taken control, meaning the Conservative group, which won most seats, is kept out of the administration.

Dundee City Council - SNP to form administration with Independent.

East Ayrshire Council - SNP minority administration

East Dunbartonshire - Meeting Tuesday 23 May

East Lothian Council- Labour minority administration

East Renfrewshire Council - The SNP and Labour are set to run the council despite the Conservatives winning the most seats.

Edinburgh Council - No agreement reached.

Falkirk Council - SNP minority takes control of the council

Fife Council - Joint leadership, with power shared equally between SNP and Labour.

Glasgow - The SNP has formed a minority administration, ending almost 40 years of Labour dominance.

Highland Council - 28 independents along with 10 Lib Dems and three Labour have formed an administration, keeping out the SNP and Tories.

Inverclyde Council - Meeting Thursday 25 May at 4pm

Midlothian Council - Labour will run a minority administration

Moray Council - The Conservative group of eight councillors is to join forces with six of the independent members.

North Ayrshire Council - Labour will continue to run the council despite a surge from the Scottish Conservatives in the local elections. The SNP have the same number of seats as Labour.

North Lanarkshire Council - Labour have formed a minority administration. There will be no formal coalition agreement with the Tories.

Perth and Kinross Council - A Conservative-led coalition with the Lib Dems and Independents.

Renfrewshire Council - will operate as an SNP minority administration.

South Ayrshire Council - A coalition of SNP, Labour and Independent councillors has been formed to run the council.

Scottish Borders - A new Conservative-independent coalition has taken formal control. It was previously an SNP/Lib Dem/independent administration.

South Lanarkshire Council - Labour members abstained in a vote on forming an alliance with the Tories. The SNP took control of the council, with a minority administration. They are seven seats short of a majority but the other parties could agree to work together.

Stirling Council - Next meeting Wednesday 24 May

West Dunbartonshire Council - It will be an SNP-Independent administration. The 10 SNP councillors have joined with one of the two independents to form an administration.

West Lothian Council - No deal agreed after Scottish Labour's ruling body told councillors not to enter a coalition with the Conservatives. They will meet again on Thursday 25 May.

Western Isles, Orkney and Shetland - All administrations dominated by independents.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites