Scots painter 'Jolomo' gets OBE in Honours List

Image caption,
Mr Morrison described the OBE as a marvellous honour

One of Scotland's best-loved landscape artists has been awarded an OBE in the New Year Honours List.

Glasgow-born painter, John Lowrie Morrison, has been recognised for his services to art and charity.

The 62-year-old, who sells about £2m of art a year, has donated numerous works and profits from his paintings to worthy causes.

Mr Morrison, who signs all of his works "Jolomo", described the OBE as "a simply marvellous honour".

He started his artistic career drawing life figures, winning a prize at the Glasgow School of Art.

After gaining a diploma in education at Jordanhill College, he began a 25-year teaching career in Argyll in 1973.

In 1997 he decided to earn a living as a full-time painter, spending most of the next six years painting in Argyll and the Hebrides.

Over the next 13 years his work became hugely popular and is now widely reproduced on mugs, cards and calendars.

For many years he has been a carer, and financial success has enabled him, with the support of his wife, Maureen, to work as Patron of the Princess Royal Trust for Carers as well as supporting many other charities.

His devotion to landscape painting led to the establishment of the Jolomo Lloyds TSB Scotland prize for new or emerging landscape painters, which he hopes will encourage a revival of interest in the genre.

Mr Morrison's decision to devote himself to painting has also enabled him to embark on a course of theological study, which culminated in his appointment as a reader in the Church of Scotland.

The artist said he was "highly delighted" to be receiving an OBE.

"Painting and the Scottish landscape have been lifelong passions for me and there are charities whose fantastic work my wife and I are hugely keen to support," he said.

"It's great to be recognised in this way for doing things you love."

Another Scot being recognised in the New Year's Honours List is Ian Forsyth, who has been awarded an MBE for voluntary service to the Royal British Legion Scotland in Hamilton, South Lanarkshire.

Tank hits

The Second World War veteran, who is in his 80s, vowed to spend his life helping others if he survived after his tank was hit.

Mr Forsyth was 17 when he joined the military and trained as a wireless operator with the 19th Hussars.

He fought in France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany, surviving three hits on his tank.

One of these close shaves, which happened near the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp, proved a life-changing experience.

Mr Forsyth said: "Two days after we left Belsen my tank was hit and I was running for my life.

"I made up my mind then that, if I survived, I would spend the rest of my life trying to help others who were not so lucky and that's what I've done."

The grandfather-of-five is also convener of his local branch of Poppy Scotland.

After the war, he became an engineering teacher, working in schools in Hamilton, Lanark, Rutherglen and Larkhall.

Other Scots from the west of Scotland named in the New Year's Honours List, include:


Kenneth Alasdair MacKinnon, RD, Lord-Lieutenant of Argyll and Bute.


Mrs Angiolina Foster, Director, Strategy and Ministerial Support, Scottish government (Glasgow);

Mrs Sheila Margaret Taylor, Headteacher, Annette Street Primary School, Glasgow (Paisley, Renfrewshire). For services to local and national education;

Professor John Williamson Wallace, OBE. Principal, Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (Glasgow). For services to dance, music and drama education;

Tom Williams. Executive vice-president of Programmes, Airbus SAS (Ayr, Ayrshire and Arran). For services to the Aerospace industry.


Mrs Patricia Bolton. Vice-Chair, Victim Support Scotland (Glasgow). For services to disadvantaged people.

Professor Muffy Calder. Professor of Formal Methods, University of Glasgow (Glasgow). For services to computer science.

Councillor Elizabeth Cunningham, East Renfrewshire (Barrhead, Renfrewshire). For services to the community in East Renfrewshire and Malawi.

John Fitzpatrick. Headteacher, Williamwood High School, East Renfrewshire. (Newton Mearns, Renfrewshire). For services to education.

David Christopher Glancy, TD. Senior Depute Fiscal, Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service, Scottish government. (Greenock, Renfrewshire)

Mrs Tatjana Hine. Managing director, TBDA (Scotland) Ltd (Bearsden, Glasgow). For services to business.

Magnus Calum MacFarlane-Barrow (Argyll and Bute). For services to Mary's Meals charity.

Mrs Margaret Whyte Moffat (West Kilbride, Ayrshire and Arran). For charitable services in North Ayrshire.


Ms Margaret Bissett (glasgow). For charitable services to the Beatson Oncology Centre, Glasgow.

Ms Elizabeth Anne Buchanan. Commercial Partners director, VisitScotland (Troon, South Ayrshire). For services to the tourist industry.

Mrs Cecilia Butler (Isle of Arran, Ayrshire and Arran). For services to older people in the Isle of Arran, Ayrshire.

Professor Stuart William Cameron. Chief Engineer, Doosan Babcock (Clydebank, Dunbartonshire). For services to mechanical engineering.

Mrs Alice Carnduff.Renfrewshire (Lochwinnoch, Renfrewshire). For voluntary service to Save the Children in Paisley, Renfrewshire.

John Shaw Donaldson (Renfrewshire). For services to local government.

Mrs Isabella McNair Edgar (Isle of Islay, Argyll and Bute). For voluntary service to Highland and Scottish Country Dancing.

Brian Gardner. Head of education resources, North Ayrshire Council (Kilbarchan, Renfrewshire). For services to education.

Mrs Morag Mary Hart, JP, DL (Glasgow). For voluntary service to Girlguiding in Scotland.

Iain Love Johnston (Brodick, Ayrshire and Arran). For services to the hospitality and tourist industries in the Isle of Arran.

Mrs Rosalie Anne Frances McCluskey (Ayrshire and Arran). For services to the community in Drongan, East Ayrshire.

Miss Fiona Margaret McCulloch (Glasgow). Grade C1, Ministry of Defence.

Mrs Mary Elizabeth McGuiness (Houston , Renfrewshire). Instructor, Clippens School, Linwood, Paisley. For services to special needs education.

James McKillop (Hillpark, Glasgow). For voluntary service to people with dementia.

William McLachlan (Glasgow). Safety, health and environmental adviser, BAE Systems. For charitable services.

Ian David Shanley (Lanark, Lanarkshire). ICT general manager, Scottish Ambulance Service. For services to emergency healthcare.

Robert Delmore Wilson (carluke, South Lanarkshire). Formerly regional manager, Glasgow, Identity and Passport Service, Home Office.


Iain MacLeod. Formerly Deputy chief Constable, Central Scotland Police.

Neil Allan Richardson. Deputy chief Constable, Strathclyde Police.


David Smith. Area Commander, Strathclyde Fire and Rescue. (Cockermouth, Cumbria

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.