Scotland politics

Angus Council

  • In 1996, two-tier local government was abolished and Angus was established as one of the replacement single-tier council areas with eight multi-member wards, electing a total of 29 councillors.
  • The Angus Council area borders Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross and Dundee City.
  • The population of the local authority stood at 110,250 in 2009 .
  • The council, based in the county town of Forfar, employs 5,500 full time equivalent staff.
  • It has a budget of about £260m.
  • Arbroath is the largest town in the council area of Angus and it lends its name to the Declaration of Arbroath and the famous delicacy, the Arbroath Smokie.
  • The town of Brechin boast its own round-tower cathedral with features from the 13th and 14th Centuries.
  • The Scottish coastal resort of Montrose is about 40 miles north of Dundee between the mouths of the North and South Esk rivers. The town has a wealth of history and remains an important commercial port for the oil and gas industry.
  • Agriculture is one of the major industries in Angus, along with engineering, fishing, food processing, textiles and pharmaceuticals.
  • It is also home to the challenging golf course of Carnoustie.

More on this story