Scotland politics

Who is in the 2016 Scottish cabinet?

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Nicola Sturgeon has appointed a cabinet of five men and five women

Nicola Sturgeon has announced a Scottish ministerial reshuffle following the 2016 Holyrood election. Here's a look at who's in, who's out and who's been moved around.

John Swinney - Education Secretary

Image copyright PA

John Swinney remains Scotland's deputy first minister but his substantive cabinet job has changed. He is moving from finance secretary to education secretary.

He is seen as one of the SNP's top thinkers and strategists and will be the man to oversee a brief that First Minister Nicola Sturgeon says is her government's top priority.

The Scottish government said of Mr Swinney's appointment: "He will take forward the Scottish government's ambitious education programme, with a focus on closing the attainment gap and widening access to higher and further education for those from deprived backgrounds."

Mr Swinney is a politician of wide appeal, with former Labour MP Jim Murphy once saying of his rival: "There's nobody in Scotland who doesn't like John Swinney."

Shona Robison - Health and sport

Image copyright PA

Shona Robison, a close friend and political ally of Ms Sturgeon, retains her health secretary role.

She had previously served as public health minister where she was responsible for tackling Scotland's unhealthy relationship with cigarettes and alcohol, as well as overseeing the flagship free personal care policy.

Ms Robison's other past briefs included being government minister responsible for Glasgow's 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Keith Brown - Economy, jobs and fair work

Image copyright PA

Keith Brown - who had been the infrastructure secretary - will not only continue to oversee infrastructure projects, but he will be securing investment and supporting people into work, similar to the UK government's business secretary.

The first minister had previously said creating two finance roles was not a reflection on how the one job had been carried out in the past, but rather a "reflection of the challenges and opportunities we face in the future".

Mr Brown, a former Royal marine and Falklands War veteran was elected to parliament in 2007. His first high-profile role was as transport minister. He took on that job after the resignation of Stewart Stevenson following his poor handling of travel chaos during the bad winter of 2010.

The minister will retain personal responsibility for veterans policy.

Roseanna Cunningham - Environment, climate change and land reform

SNP veteran Roseanna Cunningham has been moved from the fair work, skills and training brief to cabinet minister for the environment.

That post had been held by Richard Lochhead who announced before the reshuffle that he was stepping down as a minister to spend more time with his sick wife and two young children.

Ms Cunningham, whose political tendencies previously earned her the nickname "Republican Rose", stood against Mr Salmond for the SNP leadership in 2004.

Angela Constance - Communities, social security and equalities

Image copyright Getty Images

Angela Constance has been moved from education, making way for John Swinney to take the brief.

However, she remains in the cabinet having been appointed minister for communities, social security and equalities. She will be tasked with implementing the new welfare powers being devolved to Scotland.

During her time running the education department she was criticised over her government's failure to close the attainment gap.

Ahead of the reshuffle, it was rumoured she would lose the role.

Michael Matheson - Justice

Image copyright PA

There will be no change at the top of the justice department as Michael Matheson retains the role he was given in November 2014.

He is only the second person to have held this post since the SNP came to power - Kenny MacAskill was the first.

The MSP's justice brief will include overseeing civil and criminal law, policing, prisons and the fire and rescue service.

Fergus Ewing - Rural economy and connectivity

Fergus Ewing has gone from his junior ministerial role in charge of energy to being in charge of the rural economy and connectivity brief.

It is a first-time cabinet role for the 58-year-old who comes from a family of SNP politicians.

His mother is veteran Scottish Nationalist Winnie Ewing; his late wife, Margaret Ewing, was the MSP for Moray until her death in March 2006 and his sister Annabelle Ewing is MSP for Cowdenbeath.

Fiona Hyslop - Culture, tourism and external affairs

Fiona Hyslop said she was "delighted" to continue in the culture and media role.

She will be dealing with everything from national identity and the EU to Scotland's film industry.

Former first minister Alex Salmond made the role a cabinet one when he won majority government in 2011.

Ms Hyslop had previously been education and lifelong learning minister in Mr Salmond's 2007 cabinet.

Derek Mackay - Finance and constitution

Image copyright PA

Derek Mackay was transport secretary in Ms Sturgeon's last cabinet.

He moves from that role to John Swinney's former job overseeing the country's finances.

Mr Mackay will also take charge over constitutional issues.

The 38-year-old said: "I am honoured to have been invited by the first minister to join the Scottish cabinet as cabinet secretary for finance and constitution. I am determined to do my best."

Non-cabinet ministerial roles

Image caption [Top row, from left] Aileen Campbell, Annabelle Ewing, Humza Yousaf, Jamie Hepburn, Jeane Freeman and Joe FitzPatrick. [Bottom row, from left] Kevin Stewart, Mark McDonald, Maureen Watt, Shirley-Anne Somerville, Paul Wheelhouse and Alasdair Allan

Childcare and Early Years - Mark McDonald

Further Education, Higher Education and Science - Shirley-Anne Somerville

Parliamentary Business - Joe FitzPatrick

Transport and the Islands - Humza Yousaf

Business, Innovation and Energy - Paul Wheelhouse

Employability and Training - Jamie Hepburn (reporting to cabinet secretaries for economy and education)

Public Health and Sport - Aileen Campbell

Mental Health - Maureen Watt

Community Safety and Legal Affairs - Annabelle Ewing

Local Government & Housing - Kevin Stewart

Social Security - Jeane Freeman

International Development and Europe - Alasdair Allan

More on this story