No Welsh MPs elected into Labour's shadow cabinet

Image caption,
Mr Hain was Welsh Secretary in the last Labour government

No Welsh MPs have made it into Labour's shadow cabinet, following a party vote.

Peter Hain, MP for Neath, Rhondda MP Chris Bryant and Cardiff West MP Kevin Brennan were notable omissions.

Sources within the Welsh party said they expected Mr Hain to be among the five choices left to the discretion of Labour leader Ed Miliband.

Mr Miliband has confirmed that there will be a shadow Welsh Secretary in his shadow cabinet and that the post will be held by a Welsh MP.

Eight Welsh MPs put their names forward for the shadow cabinet, including Wayne David, David Hanson, Huw Irranca-Davies, Ian Lucas and Alun Michael.

Sources close to Mr Hain said he was disappointed not to make the shadow cabinet but always knew it was a possibility given the number of candidates.

In total 49 MPs put their names forward for 19 elected positions.

Labour MPs vote to decide who should be in the shadow cabinet when the party is in opposition.

The final shadow cabinet will contain 29 members.

There is a legal limit of 22 paid members of the UK cabinet but other ministers do attend meetings.

A minimum quota of six women was imposed as part of efforts to promote equality.

The party overshot that figure returning eight in total including Caroline Flint, who quit Gordon Brown's government in 2008 complaining that female ministers were being treated as "window dressing".

More on this story

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.