Wales politics

Davies names Welsh Conservative assembly spokespeople

Andrew RT Davies
Image caption Andrew RT Davies claims the Tories are the 'true opposition' after Plaid's deal with Labour

Welsh Conservative leader Andrew RT Davies has announced his new frontbench team, with Angela Burns and Darren Millar swapping key roles.

Ms Burns will speak on health and Mr Millar education, while Russell George focuses on the economy and transport.

Paul Davies is rural affairs spokesman and Mark Isherwood will be responsible for communities and Europe.

The Tory leader said the team would provide "true opposition", after Plaid Cymru's deal with Labour ministers.

Andrew RT Davies remains Tory group leader, backed by AMs, MPs and activists despite a disappointing assembly election result.

The Conservatives lost three of their 14 seats and saw Plaid Cymru replace them as the official opposition.

Plaid leader Leanne Wood named her shadow ministers in May while the assembly's new UKIP group announced its spokespeople on Thursday.

'Robust scrutiny'

South Wales West AM Suzy Davies will speak for the Conservatives on social services, older people and the Welsh language while former Deputy Presiding Officer David Melding takes the lead on the environment, sustainability, planning and housing.

Nick Ramsay stays as finance spokesman, Janet Finch-Saunders will deal with local government matters and Mohammad Asghar will focus on skills.

Andrew RT Davies said: "By working together in broader portfolio areas, my team stand ready to offer robust scrutiny to this minority Labour administration; and will act as Wales' true opposition, amid Labour and Plaid Cymru's recent behind-closed-doors deal."

Conservative assembly spokespeople

  • Angela Burns - Health
  • Mark Isherwood - Communities and Europe
  • Russell George - Economy, transport and sport
  • Darren Millar - Education
  • Paul Davies - Deputy leader, chief whip and rural affairs
  • Suzy Davies - Social services and older people's champion, Welsh language
  • Janet Finch-Saunders - Local government and group vice-chair
  • Nick Ramsay - Finance
  • Mohammad Asghar - Skills
  • David Melding - Group chairman, environment and sustainability, planning and housing

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites