Wales politics

Liz Saville Roberts new Plaid Cymru leader in Commons

Liz Saville Roberts
Image caption Liz Saville Roberts has been an MP for two years

Dwyfor Meirionnydd MP Liz Saville Roberts has been elected Plaid Cymru's leader at Westminster.

She succeeds Hywel Williams, the MP for Arfon, who had been in the post for almost two years.

Ms Saville Roberts became Plaid's first female MP at the 2015 general election, succeeding party colleague Elfyn Llwyd who stood down after 23 years.

Plaid Cymru now have four MPs, after Ben Lake won Ceredigion from the Lib Dems in last week's election.

More on this story