Solomon Islands profile - Leaders

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a governor-general

Prime minister: Manasseh Sogavare

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare, pictured in 2006

MPs elected Manasseh Sogavare prime minister in a secret ballot on 9 December 2014. The veteran politician was elected to the top post for the third time, beating first-time MP Jeremiah Manele by 31 votes to 19.

His predecessor Gordon Darcy Lilo, who had been widely tipped for reelection, lost his seat in a shock result.

Mr Sogavare, backed by the ruling Democratic Coalition for Change, said the government would work hard to rebuild the Pacific nation's economy and tackle corruption.

Born in 1955, his first term as prime minister from 2000 to 2001 took place during a period of ethnic violence. He held the post again in May 2006, after rioting in the capital Honiara forced his predecessor Snyder Rini to resign just days after his election. Mr Sogavare was ousted in a vote of no-confidence in December 2007.

The November 2014 general election was seen as a test of the country's stability following the end of a 10-year international peacekeeping mission to stem the ethnic violence and restore law and order.

The election process was generally peaceful with the country recording its highest ever voter turnout at almost 90%.

Politics in the Solomon Islands is fluid, with no deep-rooted party-political system.

Related Topics