Sinn Fein win seats in both Donegal constituencies

Image caption,
Pearse Doherty was elected on the first count in Donegal SW

Sinn Fein's Pearse Doherty and Padraig MacLochlainn have been elected on the first count in their respective Donegal constituencies.

Mr Doherty topped the poll in Donegal SW, winning 14,262 first preference votes and retaining the seat he won in a by-election at the end of last year.

It is the biggest share of the vote won by Sinn Fein in the modern era.

Mr MacLochlainn was elected in Donegal NE, winning a quarter of first preference votes.

The outgoing deputy prime minister Mary Coughlan polled 4,956 in Donegal SW, well short of the quota of 10,816.