Corsica profile

Corsica has a regional assembly - the Assemblee de Corse - which sits in Ajaccio. The regional prefect is the top representative of the French central government on the island.

The island is divided into two departments - Haute Corse and Corse du Sud. Each has an elected assembly, based in Bastia and Ajaccio respectively.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Formed in 1992, the Corsican Assembly has greater powers than regional councils on the French mainland