Guernsey Election 2012: Polls close

All Guernsey's polling stations have closed in the 2012 election.

Polling stations in all seven districts closed at 20:00 BST and the counting of the votes has begun.

The elections, held every four years, will decide which of the 78 candidates will become the 45 deputies who make up the island's government.

There will be at least 10 new members of the assembly as 10 sitting members have stood down.

According to the returning officers the first results are expected around 11:00 BST.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites