Names put forward for Guernsey Overseas Aid Commission

  • Published

New members of Guernsey's Overseas Aid Commission are to be appointed in July.

The States is to be asked to approve the appointment of six people to the commission's remaining positions for a four-year term.

They will administer it alongside its chairman, Culture and Leisure Minister Mike O'Hara.

The commission is responsible for considering grants for aid projects in developing countries. It helped 76 projects in 31 countries in 2011.

States members will be asked to approve recommendations by the Policy Council, which include existing members Tim Peet and Steve Mauger returning to the commission, and four potential newcomers.

The other names put forward for the commission are Teresa de Nobrega, Philip Bodman, Judy Moore and Nick Paluch.

In 2011, the commission gave more than £2.5m in grants to schemes in Africa, Asia and South America, its annual report said.

Related Internet Links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.