Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Isle of Man Deemster in Tynwald's highest Honour

A former First Deemster from the Isle of Man is to be awarded Tynwald's highest honour for his "outstanding and sacrificial service to Manx life".

John William Corrin CBE will be presented with a medal on Tynwald Day.

Recipients of the Tynwald Honour award are entitled to use the abbreviation "TH" after his or her name.

John Corrin, also the former chiairman of the Manx Blind Welfare Society, once served as the Isle of Man's Attorney General.

A deemster, an Isle of Man judge, presides over the The High Court of Justice.

One of the criteria for the Tynwald Honour is that the recipient must be motivated by promoting the quality of life in the Isle of Man.

Previous recipients of the award include artist Norman Sayle (2007), journalist and farmer, Harvey Briggs (2008), Ian Qualtrough (2009) Dr Brian Stowell (2010) and William Cain CBE (2011).

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites