Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

TT car race centenary celebrated on Isle of Man

Image caption Twenty-three cars entered the race in 1914, held over 16 laps of the TT Course

About 50 cars, representing every year from 1902 to 1918, are on the Isle of Man to celebrate the centenary of the TT car race.

Among the steam and petrol-powered vehicles will be two of the original cars which took part in the 1914 race.

The vehicles belong to members of the North West section of the Veteran Car Company (VCC) of Great Britain.

Chairman Philip Lucking said: "It is a very special moment and the owners will have lumps in their throats."

Image copyright Manx National Heritage
Image caption The last TT car race before World War Two was known as the "Patriotic TT"

Mr Lucking said: "It is quite a spectacle - lots of shiny brass and weird and wonderful colours - each one would have been handmade and is a work of art."

The two cars which took part in the last TT car race before World War Two, known as the Patriotic TT, led the cars away on a lap of the course.

Image copyright Mark Edwards
Image caption Bill Wrather's car completed the 600-mile race in 1914, which was held over two days

Timothy Moore from Cambridge, who owns a 1914 Sunbeam which started the race, said it was a "wonderful racing car".

The VCC was established in 1930 to help preserve, restore and encourage the use of veteran (up to and including 1904) and Edwardian cars (1905 to 1918).

Twenty-three cars entered the two-day race in 1914, won by Kenelm Lee Guinness in a Sunbeam, held over 16 laps of the Mountain Course, a total of 600 miles (965km).

Image copyright Mark Edwards
Image caption Motorists from all over the UK brought their vehicles to the Isle of Man

The fastest lap in that race was an average speed of 59mph, compared to the current record of 117.5mph set on a one-off lap by Manx rally driver Mark Higgins earlier this month.

The cars, from all over the UK, will tour the island for three days.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites