Isle Of Man / Ellan Vannin

Tynwald: Two new MHKs sworn in after Douglas by-elections

Ralph Peake and Bill Malarkey Image copyright Other
Image caption Businessman Ralph Peake (left) and former MHK Bill Malarkey were elected in Douglas

Two newly elected Members of the House of Keys have been sworn in following last week's by-elections in Douglas.

Residents in the Douglas North and Douglas South constituencies elected businessman Ralph Peake and former politician Bill Malarkey respectively.

Chief Minister Allan Bell said they are "two energetic individuals who I know will make a name for themselves".

The seats became vacant when Bill Henderson and David Cretney were elected to the Legislative Council.

Four candidates stood for election in Douglas South, while three others put themselves forward in Douglas North.

Mr Peake was elected for the first time whilst Mr Malarkey returns four years after being ousted from his seat.

Douglas South
William Malarkey, Electrical Engineer & Company Director 598
Keith Fitton, Registered Nurse & Charity Manager 502
Amy Burns, Homemaker 273
Kurt Buchholz, Businessman 164
Douglas North
Ralph Peake, Businessman 604
David Ashford, Businessman 554
Maire Booth, Shipping Officer 223

Source:Isle of Man government

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites