Headteacher and tourist attraction owner win IoD awards

A Jersey headteacher and an owner of a tourist attraction were among the winners of the Institute of Directors Jersey Director of the Year Awards.

Le Rocquier school head Richard Rolfe and aMaizin! Adventure Park owner Kristina Le Feuvre were announced as winners at a gala dinner.

Writer and broadcaster and former Conservative MP Michael Portillo presented the awards.

It was the second staging of the Jersey Director of the Year Awards.

'Very humble'

Jason Laity, chairman of the Jersey Institute of Directors, said the awards celebrated the very best Jersey had to offer in leadership and this year saw some exceptional candidates.

John Henwood, Judging Panel Chairman, said Mr Rolfe had turned a school described merely as satisfactory into one officially recognised as "outstanding".

Mr Rolfe said: "I feel a little stunned and very very humble because normally I put the school forward for awards and I am obviously very passionate about the school.

"I was very surprised that somebody put me forward for it and I was not expecting to win."

John Henwood also said that Kristina Le Feuvre from the aMaizin! Adventure Park had transformed a struggling business into an attraction which welcomes 55,000 visitors a year.

The winners from each of the categories will automatically be entered into the IoD's national Director of the Year Awards UK Finals in September.

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites