Jersey States assistant ministers announced

Jersey States chamber
Image caption Jersey held its general election for the States Assembly in October

Jersey's chief minister has named the assistant ministers who will work with the council of ministers for the next three and a half years.

Since the elections in October, government has been on hold awaiting ministerial and assistant ministerial appointments.

Chief Minister, Senator Ian Gorst, had all 10 of his preferred ministerial candidates approved on 7 November.

Each of those ministers have now announced their assistant ministers.

Health Minister, Senator Andrew Green, has been appointed Deputy Chief Minister and will stand in when Senator Gorst is away.

Department changes

Some areas of responsibility are likely to change as there are reforms planned to the council of ministers.

This means that some ministers will also be assistant ministers in other departments until those areas of responsibility can be moved.

Economic Development Minister, Senator Lyndon Farnham, will be an assistant education minister responsible for culture at education until culture is absorbed into his ministry.

He will also be assistant minister in planning and environment until agriculture is moved to his ministry.

Transport and Technical Services minister, Deputy Eddie Noel, will be assistant minister in treasury and resources until Jersey Property Holdings is moved to his department.

There does not need to be a States vote on assistant ministers, so those named will take up their role immediately.

Politicians also voted for the chairmen and members of the scrutiny panels, set up to review government policy and propositions.

Jersey States ministers
Department Minister Assistant Minister
Treasury and Resources Senator Alan Maclean Deputy Tracey Vallois
Health and Social Services Senator Andrew Green Constable John Refault
Deputy Peter McLinton
External Relations Senator Sir Philip Bailhache
Transport and Technical Services Deputy Eddie Noel Deputy Richard Rondel
Home Affairs Deputy Kristina Moore Constable Deidre Mezbourian
Economic Development Senator Lyndon Farnham Constable Steve Pallett
Deputy Murray Norton
Social Security Deputy Susie Pinel Deputy Graham Truscott
Education, Sport and Culture Deputy Rod Bryans Senator Sir Philip Bailhache
Planning and Environment Deputy Steve Luce Constable Steve Pallett
Housing Deputy Anne Pryke

Related Topics

More on this story

Related Internet links

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites