Latin America & Caribbean

St Kitts and Nevis - Leaders

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a governor-general

Prime Minister: Timothy Harris

Timothy Harris took office as prime minister in February 2015, succeeding Denzil Douglas, who governed the twin-island federation for 20 years.

The Team Unity coalition led by Mr Harris won seven of the 11 contested seats in the National Assembly in the general elections. The other four seats went to Douglas' St Kitts and Nevis Labour Party.

Mr Harris is only the third prime minister since the country gained independence from Britain in 1983.

Related Topics