Latin America & Caribbean

Trinidad and Tobago profile - Leaders

President: Anthony Carmona

President Carmona enjoyed a distinguished legal career before becoming president in March 2013. He served as a member of Trinidad and Tobago's Supreme Court and was a judge at the International Criminal Court in The Hague.

He was nominated for the presidency by the government of Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, and duly approved by parliament.

Trinidad and Tobago is a parliamentary republic, and the president's role is largely ceremonial.

Prime minister: Keith Rowley

Image copyright Getty Images

Keith Rowley was sworn in in September 2015 after he led the People's National Movement party to victory in a general election.

A volcanologist with a PhD in Geology, specialising in Geochemistry, he first ran for political office in 1981. He served as an opposition senator in parliament from 1987 to 1990 and has been a member of the House of Representatives for Diego Martin West since 1991.

Dr Rowley was first appointed as a cabinet minister in 1992 as minister of agriculture and later went on to hold the planning and development, housing and trade and industry portfolios.

Following the People's National Movement 's defeat in the June 2010 elections, he was elected as party leader and as the opposition leader in the House of Representatives. He was staunchly opposed to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar's introduction of a state of emergency following an upsurge in crime in 2011 and he filed multiple motions of no-confidence in her government.

Related Topics