“Can I take back something I've posted?"

Once you’ve published something online, in some cases it is possible to take it down. Remember, some people may have already seen it and even screen-grabbed it and it can take a little while to disappear from people’s streams or feeds.

If what you’ve posted is on a social media platform, there are ways to remove this content. If you’ve added something to your Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, or WhatsApp story, there are instructions for each site on how to take these down. Similarly, you can take down pictures, videos or statuses you’ve posted on YouTubeFacebook, Instagram or Twitter. Each platform has simple instructions on how to do this.

If you’ve directly sent something through a platform or messaging service, you will not be able to get this back - even if it has not yet been opened. Think carefully before you post or send messages.

Only share content with the people you trust, and who you know won’t share anything that might harm or embarrass you. Keep in mind, just because you find something funny, it doesn’t mean everyone else does.

The BBC is not responsible for content on external sites.