Skip to main contentAccess keys helpA-Z index
  • Help
  • Text only
Last updated: 21 May, 2006 - Published 12:39 GMT
Email to a friend Printable version
Independent group wins CMC
Polls in Colombo
The ruling alliance has lost Colombo Municipal Council
An independent group supported by main opposition United National Party (UNP) has won the most important Municipal council in Sri Lanka.

Independent Group 3, led by S Rajendran, has won 23 seats in Colombo Municipal Council (CMC).

His group was supported by the UNP as the latter's list of nominations was rejected by the returning officer.

Ruling United Peoples freedom Alliance (UPFA), led by former parliamentarian Vasudeva Nanayakkara has only managed to win 14 seats.

Other councils

President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s political allies, Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and Jathika Hela Urumaya have won two and one seats respectively.

Out of 20 locla bodies contested ruling UPFA has won five councils and the UNP has gained power in four councils.

While the UNP has secured the power in Gampaha MC, the UPFA has managed to win Galle MC.

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) has won four councils in the east while Ilankai Tamil Arasu Kadchchi (ITAK), Muslim National Congress (MNC) and National Development Alliance (NDA) have secured the power over one council each.

The elections for 22 local bodies were postponed earlier to 20 May due to judicial procedings and security reasons.

The UPFA recorded a landslide victory in 30 March elections.

Elections for two bodies in Vavuniya are to be held on 30 September.

Counting begins
19 May, 2006 | Sandeshaya
The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites
Email to a friend Printable version
  About Us | Contact Us | Programmes | Frequencies
BBC Copyright Logo ^^ Back to top
  Sandeshaya | Highlights | Weather
  BBC News >> | BBC Sport >> | BBC Weather >> | BBC World Service >> | BBC Languages >>
  Help | Contact Us | Privacy statement