Isle of Man Sports Awards 2012: Stars to attend ceremony

Sport Isle of Man

The achievements of the island's top sports stars will be recognised on Thursday at the Isle of Man Sport Awards in Douglas.

More than 50 individuals and teams have been nominated for awards, culminating in the naming of the sportsman and sportswoman of the year for 2012.

Vice chairman of Isle of Man sport Gary Corkhill said: "Manx sport has never been in better health."

The winners will named at the Villa Marina in Douglas on 21 March.

Last year's winners Mark Cavendish and Aalin George are among those put forward for the main awards.

Corkhill added: "For a population of around 80,000 to have produced Olympic, World, European and British champions across a number of sports is very impressive."

"It has to be the strongest list of nominations we've ever had."

Alongside the nine main categories a special lifetime achievement award will be handed out and 52 athletes will receive Sports Aid sponsorships.

The young athletes will receive funding and also the opportunity to use the facilities at the Isle of Man Sport Institute in Douglas.

Former world snooker champion Dennis Taylor will be the guest of honour.

Isle of Man Sports Awards Nominations 2012


Keith Gerrard; Peter Kennaugh; Mark Cavendish; David Knight; Dave Molyneux; Danny McCanney.


Aalin George; Debbie Barron; Emma Harris; Jess Draskau; Zoe Gillings; Harriet Pryke.


Darren Kennish; Chris Hattersley; Robin Smith; Andy Waldron; Eve Kelly.

Dennis Taylor
Dennis Taylor won the snooker World Championship in 1985


Steve Taylor; Peter Kennaugh; Mark Cavendish; Cal Crutchlow; Lonan Gentlemen's Fellowship.


Danny McCanney; Greg Kelly; Darryl Hill; Phil Cringle; Dan Hattersley; Callan Cooper; Jamie McCanney; Joe Kelly.


Tara Donnelly; Aalin George; Laura Kinley; Charlotte Atkinson; Kirsten George; Yasmin Ingham; Reagan Dee; Louise Corkill.


IOM Athletics Club; Ladies Compound Archery Team; St George's AFC; IOM Cricket Team; Southern Nomads.


Brian Callow; Roberta Cannell; Joe Boyd; Tony Temple; Dave Christian; Louise Haddock.


Gareth Dawson; Casey Davies; Tom Melvin; Jenni Quillan; Chris Bass; Kevin Manning.

Top Stories