Isle of Man Sports Awards 2013 nominations announced

Zoe Gillings and Peter Kennaugh

The nominations for the 2013 Isle of Man Sports Awards have been revealed.

Last year's winners Peter Kennaugh and Zoe Gillings are among those put forward for eight awards, including sportsman and sportswoman of the year.

The winners will be revealed at a ceremony at the Villa Marina in Douglas on 10 April with former Olympic swimmer the guest of honour.

IOM Sport Vice Chairman, Gary Corkhill said it has been a "fabulous year for Manx sport."

The sportsman of the year award sees last year's winner, Olympic gold medallist Peter Kennaugh, pitted against former winner and fellow cyclist Mark Cavendish, enduro motorcycling stars Daniel and Jamie McCanney, who both won World titles in 2013, as well as English cross country champion Keith Gerrard and swimmer Grant Halsall.

The sportswomen of the year award includes former winners Zoe Gillings and Aalin George, as well as Aalin's sister - fellow archer Kirsten, junior British cycling champion Anna Christian, European Under-16 eventing champion Yasmin Ingham, and British shooting champion Rachel Glover.

Mr Corkhill said: "We say it every year but 2013 was, yet again, another fabulous year for Manx sport with success at all levels right through to World Championships.

"This has made the drawing up of the final nominations an even harder job than usual but what a great problem to have.

"In particular, both the male and female Under-21 awards have been extended to eight athletes each and a number of very good candidates still did not make the final shortlist."

A special lifetime achievement award will also be handed out on the night, as will the Sports Aid sponsorships to young Manx athletes.

Isle of Man Sports Awards Nominations 2013

Sportsman of the Year

Mark Cavendish (cycling); Keith Gerrard (athletics); Grant Halsall (swimming); Peter Kennaugh (cycling); Daniel McCanney (enduro); Jamie McCanney (enduro).

Sportswoman of the Year

Anna Christian (cycling); Aalin George (archery); Kirsten George (archery); Zoe Gillings (snowboarding); Rachel Glover (shooting); Yasmin Ingham (equestrian).

U21 Male

Matthew Bostock (cycling); Callan Cooper (motor cycling); Phil Cringle (rugby); Tony Duchars (gymnastics); Darryl Hill (snooker); Jake Kelly (cycling); Jamie McCanney (enduro); Joe Reid (athletics).

U21 Female

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming); Anna Christian (cycling); Louise Corkill (hockey); Aalin George (archery); Kirsten George (archery); Grace Harrison (gymnastics); Yasmin Ingham (equestrian); Laura Kinley (swimming).


Paul Clucas (snow shoe running); Lawrence Dyer (athletics); Ben Grainger (swimming); Chris Hattersley (cycling); Zoe Lambie (walking).

Team of the Year

Team Royal London 360 IOM; IOM Youth Athletics Team; IOM Ladies Hockey Team; Douglas 1st XV Rugby Team; IOM Swimming Team (Arena League); IOM Team (NatWest Island Games).


Frank Anderson (badminton); Roberta Cannell (badminton); Leonie Cooil (swimming); Pip Cross (netball); Jill Gillings and Gary Jakeman (Island Games Association of Mann); Mark Kneen (bowls); Beryl Woolridge (Special Olympics).

IOM Ambassador

Mark Cavendish (cycling); Aaron Cooke (Taekwondo); Cal Crutchlow (motor cycling); Phil Drowley (mountaineering); David Higgins (rallying); Peter Kennaugh (cycling); Steve Taylor (athletics).


John Cain (boxing); Mike Doyle (cycling); Andy Fox (athletics); Lee Holland (swimming); Amanda Keating (gymnastics); Tom Waterworth (rugby).