Peter Kennaugh and Mark Cavendish among Isle of Man sports awards 2015 nominees

Peter Kennaugh
Cyclist Peter Kennaugh was crowned Sportsman of the Year at last year's event

Cyclist Peter Kennaugh has the chance to become Isle of Man sportsman of the year for the second year running after the announcement of the nominations.

Kennaugh and fellow rider Mark Cavendish are both on the shortlist for the sportsman and ambassador awards.

Athlete Sarah Astin and swimmer Charlotte Atkinson are among the six nominees for top sportswoman.

Former Olympic boxer Audley Harrison will be guest of honour at the awards ceremony in Douglas on 23 March.

Jonathan Rea
Island resident and World Superbike Champion Jonathan Rea is nominated in the ambassador category

IOM Sport's executive chairman, Gary Corkhill, said it had been a "fabulous year for Manx sport" and that the nominees were all "an inspiration to those within their respective sports".

He added: "The awards recognise the island's high-level performers and highlight their success on the world stage."

Amongst those nominated are Olympic, World and Commonwealth medal winners.

All nominees must be Manx-born or have resided on the island for at least two years.



  • Mark Cavendish (cycling)
  • Darryl Hill (snooker)
  • Peter Kennaugh (cycling)
  • Tim Kneale (shooting)
  • David Knight (enduro)
  • Daniel McCanney (enduro)
  • Jamie McCanney (enduro)


  • Sarah Astin (athletics)
  • Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)
  • Rachel Franklin (athletics)
  • Aalin George (archery)
  • Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)
  • Catherine Reid (athletics)

Under-21 Sportsman

  • Alex Bregazzi (swimming)
  • Nick Corlett (cycling)
  • Nathan Draper (cycling)
  • Josh Hewett (athletics)
  • Darryl Hill (snooker)
  • Mathew Rennie (boxing)

Under-21 Sportswoman

  • Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)
  • Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)
  • Kirsten George (archery)
  • Elizabeth Holden (cycling)
  • Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)
  • Laura Kinley (swimming)
  • Catherine Reid (athletics)

Disability Sportsperson

  • Tom Callister (Special Olympics)
  • Paul Clucas (Special Olympics)
  • Letisha Ellis (swimming)
  • Ben Grainger (swimming)
  • Peter Taylor (Special Olympics)
  • Nicola Wooldridge (Special Olympics)


  • IOM National Arena Swimming Team
  • IOM Special Olympics Football Team
  • Island Games Cycling team
  • South Ramsey Bowling Club
  • St George's Football Team
  • Vikings Hockey Club - Ladies A Team


  • Leonie Cooil (swimming)
  • Gary Jakeman (Island Games)
  • Mark Kneen (bowls)
  • Cheryl Pryke (athletics)
  • Peter Roberts (boxing)
  • Beryl Wooldridge (Special Olympics)


  • Mark Cavendish (cycling)
  • Conor Cummins (motorcycling)
  • David Higgins (motorsport)
  • Darryl Hill (snooker)
  • Peter Kennaugh (cycling)
  • Jonathan Rea (motorcycling)


  • Chris Bass (football)
  • John Cain (boxing)
  • Tony Fallon (Special Olympics)
  • Andy Fox (athletics)
  • Lee Holland (swimming)
  • Valery Molchanov (gymnastics)
  • Di Shimell (athletics)

Veteran Sportsperson

  • Adrian Beale (cycling)
  • Kevin Deakes (athletics)
  • Gail Griffiths (athletics)
  • Dave Molyneux (motorcycling)
  • Richard Gerrard (athletics)
  • Steve Colley (motorsport)

Lifetime Achievement

Announced on the night