Lewis Hamilton on six-man shortlist for world sport award

Lewis Hamilton Laureus Sports Awards
Three-time F1 world champions Lewis Hamilton won in the breakthrough award at the 2008 Laureus World Sports Awards

Formula 1 world champion Lewis Hamilton has been nominated for the title of Laureusexternal-link World Sportsman of the Year.

Hamilton, 31, is in the running for the award, along with Lionel Messi, Usain Bolt, Novak Djokovic, Jordan Spieth and basketball player Stephen Curry.

There are six British nominations for the awards,external-link voted for by sports media.

Heptathlete Jessica Ennis-Hill, the GB Davis Cup team, swimmer Adam Peaty, mountain cyclist Rachel Atherton and boxer Tyson Fury are also short-listed.

The winners will be announced at the Laureus World Sports Awards in Berlin on 18 April:

Sportsman of the Year Award

Usain Bolt (Jamaica) athletics, Stephen Curry (US) basketball, Novak Djokovic (Serbia) tennis, Lewis Hamilton (GB) motor racing, Lionel Messi (Argentina) football, Jordan Spieth (US) golf.

Sportswoman of the Year Award

Genzebe Dibaba (Ethiopia) athletics, Anna Fenninger (Austria) skiing, Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) athletics, Katie Ledecky (US) swimming, Carli Lloyd (US) football, Serena Williams (US) tennis.

Jessica Ennis
Jessica Ennis-Hill came back from injury problems and the birth of her son to win the 2015 heptathlon world championship gold in Beijing

Team of the Year Award

All Blacks (New Zealand) rugby, FC Barcelona (Spain) football, Golden State Warriors (US) basketball, Great Britain Davis Cup Team (tennis), Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team (Germany), US Women's Football Team.

Breakthrough of the Year Award

Chile Men's Football Team, Jason Day (Australia) golf, Tyson Fury (UK) boxing, Adam Peaty (UK) swimming, Jordan Spieth (US) golf, Max Verstappen (Netherlands) motor racing.

Comeback of the Year Award

Dan Carter (New Zealand) rugby, Jessica Ennis-Hill (UK) athletics, Mick Fanning (Australia) surfing, Michael Phelps (US) swimming, David Rudisha (Kenya) athletics, Lindsey Vonn (US) skiing.

Adam Peaty
Adam Peaty won world titles at the 50m and 100m breaststroke in 2015.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability Award

Marie Bochet (France) skiing, Liu Cuiqing (China) athletics, Daniel Dias (Brazil) swimming, Omara Durand (Cuba) athletics, Pieter Du Preez (South Africa) athletics, cycling, Leung Yuk Wing (China Hong Kong) boccia. external-link

Action Sportsperson of the Year Award

Rachel Atherton (UK) mountain biking, Bob Burnquist (Brazil) skateboard, Adriano de Souza (Brazil) surfing, Mick Fanning (Australia) surfing, Jan Frodeno (Germany) ironman triathlon, Chloe Kim (US) snowboarding.

Top Stories

Elsewhere on the BBC