Mark Lewis-Francis overlooked for 100m at World Championships

Lewis-Francis disqualified at UK trials

Mark Lewis-Francis has not been selected for the 100m at the World Championships, starting on 27 August.

But the 28-year-old, disqualified for a false start in the 100m final at the recent UK trials, has been selected in the 4x100m relay team in South Korea.

The individual 100m spots went to Dwain Chambers, Harry Aikines-Aryeetey and Marlon Devonish.

UK Athletics coach Charles van Commenee said: "This team has been selected to give us the best possible results."

World and European heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis, Phillips Idowu, who holds both titles in the triple jump, European 5,000m and 10,000m champion Mo Farah and Dai Greene, the European and Commonwealth 400m hurdles champion, will lead the British charge for medals in Daegu.

But there was no place for Michael Bingham (400m), Chris Thompson (10,000m) or Rhys Williams (400m hurdles).

"I am looking to see an improvement from two years ago in Berlin, where we recorded six medals and 20 top eight finishes," added Van Commenee.

"It is important to remember there is work to do before London 2012 and Daegu is another stop on the journey to make our athletes run faster, jump higher and throw further.

Archive - Lewis-Francis sprints to 60m win in January 2011

"The aim in Daegu is to get more athletes within touching distance of the podium and these World Championships are ideal preparation for what the athletes will encounter next summer and beyond."

Welshman Christian Malcolm will captain the 67-strong squad. The 32-year-old, who first wore a British vest 15 years ago, was delighted to have been handed the honour.

"I can't believe it. It is a proud moment in any sport to captain your country," said the sprinter, who will be competing in the 200m.



100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Marlon Devonish

200m: James Ellington, Christian Malcolm

400m: Martyn Rooney

800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer

1500m: James Shane

5,000m: Mo Farah

10,000m: Mo Farah

110m hurdles: Lawrence Clarke, William Sharman, Andy Turner

400mH: Jack Green, Dai Greene, Nathan Woodward

High jump: Martyn Bernard, Tom Parsons

Pole vault: Steve Lewis

Long jump: Greg Rutherford, Chris Tomlinson

Triple jump: Phillips Idowu

Discus: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Carl Myerscough

4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Devonish, James Ellington, Mark Lewis-Francis, Christian Malcolm, Craig Pickering, Danny Talbot

4x400m: Richard Buck, Chris Clarke, Jack Green, Greene, Luke Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney, Richard Strachan

Marathon: Andrew Lemoncello, Lee Merrien, Dave Webb (all team)


100m: Jeanette Kwakye, Anyika Onuora, Laura Turner

200m: Anyika Onuora

400m: Lee McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Nicola Sanders

800m: Emma Jackson, Jenny Meadows, Marilyn Okoro

1500m: Lisa Dobriskey, Hannah England

5,000m: Helen Clitheroe

3,000m steeplechase: Barbara Parker

100mH: Tiffany Porter

400mH: Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes-Drayton

Pole vault: Holly Bleasdale, Kate Dennison

Long jump: Shara Proctor

Triple jump: Yamile Aldama

Javelin: Goldie Sayers

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis, Louise Hazel

20km walk: Jo Jackson

4x100m: Montell Douglas, Jeanette Kwakye, Onuora, Abi Oyepitan, Asha Philip, Porter, Laura Turner

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Lee McConnell, Jenny Meadows, Christine Ohuruogu, Marilyn Okoro, Nadine Okyere, Nicola Sanders, Perri Shakes-Drayton

Marathon: Alyson Dixon, Susan Partridge (both team)

Top Stories