Dwain Chambers left out of 100m for European Championships

Dwain Chambers

Dwain Chambers has not been selected to compete in the 100m at the European Athletics Championships in Helsinki.

But his omission suggests he will represent Team GB at the Olympics.

Chambers won the Olympic trials at the weekend but failed to make the 'A' standard time that would have guaranteed his London 2012 selection.

The 34-year-old became eligible for the Games after the British Olympic Association's policy of lifetime bans for drug cheats was overturned.

He tested positive for the designer drug THG in 2003 and was given a two-year ban.

Chambers has been selected in the squad for the 4x100m relay.

Chambers, who has been picked for the 4x100m relay squad in Finland, won the 100m trial in Birmingham in 10.25 seconds - seven hundredths of a second outside the 'A' qualification time he required.

However, he ran A-standard times last summer - and selectors can take those times into account.

Former world youth 100m champion Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, who finished seventh in the trials with a time of 10.47s, and Commonwealth Games and European silver medallist Mark Lewis-Francis, who was sixth with 10.44s will represent Britain in the 100m in Finland.

After the trials, Chambers said: "I would like to be selected outright. If there's a way the selectors can look on my history I will gladly take that opportunity, but hopefully I am able to secure the qualifier in Helsinki."

Other athletes such as Andy Turner and Michael Rimmer, who finished third in the 110m hurdles and 800m respectively at the trials, and Lisa Dobriskey, who was second in the women's 1500m, have also been left out of the squad for the European Championships, suggesting they are likely to be awarded discretionary places in the Olympics team.

World 5,000m champion Mo Farah has been selected in that event, as it fits in with his training programme in the run-up to the Games, while 2009 World Championships 800m bronze medallist Jenny Meadows, who missed the trials through injury, is picked. She still needs to prove form and fitness ahead of the Games.

Abi Oyepitan, who withdrew from the 100m trials final at the last minute, is selected in the 200m.

High jumper Robbie Grabarz, who recorded what was then the highest outdoor jump of the year of 2.33m at May's Diamond League meeting in Rome, will also compete in Finland despite securing his Olympics spot.



100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Mark Lewis-Francis

200m: Chris Clarke, Danny Talbot

400m: Richard Buck, Luke Lennon Ford

800m: Mukhtar Mohammed, Gareth Warburton

1500m: James Brewer, Tom Lancashire

5000m: Mo Farah, Rory Fraser, Mitch Goose

10,000m: Keith Gerrard, James Walsh

3000m steeplechase: Luke Gunn, Rob Mullett, James Wilkinson

110m hurdles: Richard Alleyne, Gianni Frankis, William Sharman

400m hurdles: Rhys Williams, Nathan Woodward, Rick Yates

High jump: Robbie Grabarz, Samson Oni, Tom Parsons

Pole vault: Luke Cutts, Max Eaves, Andrew Sutcliffe

Long jump: JJ Jegede, Julian Reid, Chris Tomlinson

Triple jump: Larry Achike

Shot put: Carl Myerscough

Discus throw: Abdul Buhari, Brett Morse, Lawrence Okoye

Hammer throw: Mark Dry

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

4x100m: Aikines-Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, Tyrone Edgar, James Ellington, Christian Malcolm, Danny Talbot

4x400m: Buck, Michael Bingham, Lennon Ford, Nigel Levine, Rob Tobin, Conrad Williams


100m: Jeanette Kwakye, Ashleigh Nelson,

200m: Abi Oyepitan,

400m: Lee McConnell, Kelly Massey, Nicola Sanders

800m: Jenny Meadows, Lynsey Sharp, Jemma Simpson

1500m: Charlene Thomas

5000m: Julia Bleasdale, Helen Clitheroe, Stephanie Twell

10,000m: Jo Pavey, Charlotte Purdue, Gemma Steel

3000m steeplechase: Hatti Archer

400m hurdles: Meghan Beesley

High jump: Isobel Pooley

Pole vault: Sally Peake

Long jump: Abigail Irozuru, Shara Proctor

Shot put: Eden Francis

Discus throw: Francis, Jade Nicholls

Hammer throw: Sophie Hitchon, Sarah Holt

Javelin throw: Goldie Sayers, Laura Whittingham

4x100m: Montell Douglas, Hayley Jones, Kwakye, Nelson, Anyika Onuora

4x400m: Eilidh Child, Shana Cox, Massey, McConnell, Christine Ohuruogu, Sanders