Kerry Harty misses out on spot at European Cross Country

Kerry Harty

Kerry Harty's fifth place at Sunday's Irish Inter County Cross Country event did not prove enough to earn a place on the Ireland team for the European Championships on 9 December.

With Fionnuala Britton, Linda Byrne and Sarah Louise Treacy all picked after not running in Meath, Harty misses out.

Sunday's first three Ava Hutchinson, Lizzie Lee and Sarah McCormack are also picked for the Budapest event.

Stephen Kerr and Eoghan Totten will run in the junior men's event in Hungary.

Armagh AC athlete Kerr took the junior title at Sunday's Inter County event in Ratoath with Newcastle runner Totten taking third.

Sunday's men's Under-23 winner Letterkenny athlete Chris Johnston also earned selection for the Europeans as does Swiss-based Finn Valley club athlete Sarah Collins.

Ireland's European Cross Country Championship team

Senior men: Joe Sweeney (DSD), Michael Mulhare (Portlaoise), David Rooney (Raheny), Brendan O'Neill (DSD), Sean Hehir (Rathfarnham) and Brian Maher (Kilkenny)

Senior women: Fionnuala Britton (Kilcoole), Lizzie Lee (Leevale), Ava Hutchinson (DSD), Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe), Linda Byrne (DSD) and Sarah Louise Treacy (Moynalvey)

Under-23 men: Chris Johnston (Letterkenny), David Fitzmaurice (Clonliffe), Patrick Hogan (Ferrybank), Sam Mealy (Crusaders), John Travers (Donore), Sam Mealy (Crusaders) and Shane Quinn (Ferrybank)

Under-23 women: Una Britton (Kilcoole), Laura Behan (Kilkenny)

Junior men: Stephen Kerr (Armagh), Sean Tobin (Clonmel), Ian Guiden (Clonliffe), Killian Mooney (DSD) and Eoghan Totten (Newcastle)

Junior women: Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD), Sarah Collins (Finn Valley), Linda Conroy (Mullingar), Mary Mulhare (Portlaoise),Claire McCarthy (DSD) and Mary Ann O'Sullivan (Tinryland)