World Championships 2013: James Dasaolu makes GB squad

Dasaolu wins 100m in 9.91 secs

Britain's new sprint star James Dasaolu has made the squad for the World Championships in Moscow in August.

The 100m runner clocked 9.91 seconds on Saturday and Adam Gemili is picked for the 200m rather than the shorter event.

Olympic heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis-Hill is in the 60-strong squad despite not competing all season because of an ankle injury.

Mo Farah won gold at London 2012 in the 5,000m and 10,000m and will again double up in Russia.

An athlete for the men's long jump will be selected on 30 July.

Olympic champion Greg Rutherford is struggling with a hamstring injury, while Chris Tomlinson has - like his rival - failed to reach the A qualifying standard distance.

"The team selected for GB and NI are a mix of defending champions, potential medallists, finalists and some really exciting young talents that we see as future medallists," said UK Athletics performance director Neil Black.

"Last weekend's British Championships was a brilliant stage for the world trials, and we saw some world-class performances.

"It gave the selectors a real opportunity to see the athletes in championship mode and we were not disappointed.

"A year on from the Games and it is great to look forward to Moscow with the selected team, as we take our first steps in the build-up towards Rio 2016 and London 2017."

Dasaolu, 25, became the second-fastest Briton in history with his run at the British Championships and will be joined by Dwain Chambers, 35, and Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, 24, in contesting the 100m in Russia.

Gemili won 100m gold at the European Under-23 Championships but has instead been selected for the 200m and 4x100m relay.

The 19-year-old is the world junior champion at 100m and reached the London 2012 semi-finals, although unlike the trio of runners picked for the 100m, he had not clocked the A qualifying standard.

European indoor pole vault champion Holly Bleasdale has been struggling with injury and is not in the squad.

Lisa Dobriskey, who won silver in the 2009 World Championships, has a leg injury and also misses out.



100m: Harry Aikines Aryeetey, Dwain Chambers, James Dasaolu. 200m: James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Delano Williams. 400m: Nigel Levine. 800m: Andrew Osagie, Michael Rimmer, 1500m: Chris O'Hare. 5000m: Mo Farah. 10,000m: Mo Farah. 110mHurdles: William Sharman. 400mHurdles: Dai Greene, Sebastian Rodger, Rhys Williams. 3000m Steeplechase: James Wilkinson. Long Jump: TBA. High Jump: Robbie Grabarz. Pole Vault: Steve Lewis. Discus Throw: Brett Morse. Decathlon: Ashley Bryant. 4x100m: Aikines Aryeetey, Chambers, Dasaolu, Ellington, Gemili, Richard Kilty, Andrew Robertso, Deji Tobais. 4x400m: Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Luke Lennon Ford, Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Delano Williams.


100m: Asha Philip. 200m: Anyika Onuora, Jodie Williams. 400m: Christine Ohuruogu. 800m: Jessica Judd. Laura Muir, Marilyn Okoro. 1500m: Hannah England, Laura Weightman. 100mHurdles: Tiffany Porter. 400mHurdles: Meghan Beesley, Eilidh Child, Perri Shakes Drayton. 3000m Steeplechase: Eilish McColgan. Long Jump: Shara Proctor, Lorraine Ugen. Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon. Heptathlon: Jessica Ennis-Hill, Katarina Johnson-Thompson. Marathon: Sonia Samuels, Susan Partridge. 4x100m: Philip, Hayley Jones, Annabelle Lewis, Ashleigh Nelson, Bianca Williams, Dina Asher Smith, Williams. 4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Child, Shana Cox, Kirsten McAslan, Kelly Massey, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Ohuruogu, Onuora, Shakes Drayton.

Top Stories