Phillips Idowu loses out on lottery funding for 2013-14

Phillips Idowu

Former world champion Phillips Idowu is one of a number of high-profile GB athletes to lose their lottery funding for 2013-14.

Idowu, who won triple jump gold in 2009 in Berlin, took a break from the sport last year and missed the World Championships in Moscow.

Also among those to miss out are fellow former world medallists Andy Turner, Jenny Meadows and Lisa Dobriskey.

But the women's 4x100m relay team have been rewarded for their world bronze.

Idowu fails to make triple jump final

The sprint quartet of Ashleigh Nelson, Annabelle Lewis, Hayley Jones and Dina Lewis-Asher join the funding programme along with Anyika Onuora after the progress they made in the last 12 months following the failure to qualify a team for the 2012 Olympics.

On the Paralympic side, world champion Sophie Hahn, 16, gets funding for the first time after triumphing in the T38 100m at the IPC Athletics World Championships in Lyon in June.

Lyon silver medallist Jonathan Broom-Edwards (high jump) is funded for the first time while sprinter Sophie Kamlish is promoted from the potential squad and veteran Stephen Miller returns to the podium funding programme.

But London Paralympic wheelchair marathon silver medallist Shelly Woods misses out after her World Championships were hampered by illness and she will appeal the decision.

The 27-year-old from Blackpool tweeted:external-link "Very disappointed to hear @BritAthletics have decided not to fund me on the @uk-sport world class performance programme. #nothappy."

Meadows and Dobriskey won 800m bronze and 1500m silver respectively at the 2009 World Championships while two years later in Daegu, Turner claimed 110m hurdles bronze.

Yamile Aldama, the 41-year-old Cuba-born triple jumper who won world indoor gold last year, has also left the programme.

UK Sport, the body which distributes the funding, has narrowed its criteria, meaning only athletes considered realistic medal contenders for the Rio 2016 Olympics are eligible for 'podium' funding. Previously the emphasis had been on the likelihood of making a final.

The result is a smaller crop of 22 athletes on top-level funding, plus 16 on relay funding.

The 44 younger athletes on the lower-level 'podium potential' support had to have proved their potential to win a medal in Tokyo in 2020.

In addition, there are 25 Paralympic athletes on podium funding, plus two on relay support, and 23 on podium potential.

"Our immediate focus is firmly on medals in 2016, followed by London 2017 when we will host both the IAAF and IPC World Athletics Championships," said British Athletics performance director Neil Black. "From there attention shifts to Tokyo 2020. Our selections absolutely reflect that focus.

"2013 was an excellent year for the British team across both the Olympic and Paralympic programmes. I'm confident 2014 will bring further success in what will be another extremely busy indoor and outdoor season."

Podium programmes

Olympic: Holly Bleasdale, Lawrence Clarke, James Dasaolu, Hannah England, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Robbie Grabarz, Dai Greene, Sophie Hitchon, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Christine Ohuruogu, Andrew Osagie, Tiffany Porter, Andy Pozzi, Shara Proctor, Greg Rutherford, Perri Shakes-Drayton, William Sharman, Chris Tomlinson, Laura Weightman, Nathan Woodward.

Paralympic: Ola Abidogun, Hollie Arnold, Graeme Ballard, Paul Blake, Jonathan Broom-Edwards, Mickey Bushell, Libby Clegg , Hannah Cockroft, Aled Davies, David Devine, Kyron Duke, Dan Greaves, Sophie Hahn, Beverley Jones, Sophie Kamlish, Stephen Miller, Jonnie Peacock, Josie Pearson, Gemma Prescott, Stefanie Reid, Nathan Stephens, David Weir, Richard Whitehead, Rob Womack, Bethany Woodward

Olympic relay:

Mens 4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, James Ellington

Women's 4x100m - Dina Asher-Smith, Hayley Jones, Annabelle Lewis, Ashleigh Nelson, Anyika Onuora

Men's 4x400m - Michael Bingham, Jamie Bowie, Jack Green, Nigel Levine, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams,

Women's 4x400m: Margaret Adeoye, Eilidh Child, Shana Cox

Paralympic relay: Katrina Hart, Jenny McLoughlin

Podium Potential programmes

Olympic: Meghan Beesley, David Bolarinwa, Dan Bramble, Lucy Bryan, Ashley Bryant, Katie Byres, Chris Clarke, Luke Cutts, Mark Dry, Zane Duquemin, James Gladman, Emelia Gorecka, Charlie Grice, Abigail Irozuru, JJ Jegede, Jessica Judd, Richard Kilty, Jade Lally, Eilish McColgan, Sophie McKinna, Mukhtar Mohammed, Brett Morse, Laura Muir, Ross Murray, Chris O'Hare, Asha Philip , Isobel Pooley, Julian Reid, Leon Reid, Andrew Robertson, Sebastian Rodger, Jazmin Sawyers, James Shane, Lynsey Sharp, Allan Smith, Serita Solomon, Gemma Steel, Danny Talbot, Deji Tobais, Lorraine Ugen, Chijindu Ujah, Bianca Williams, Delano Williams, Jodie Williams.

Paralympic: Joshua Bain, Olivia Breen, Jamie Carter, Josh Clark, Meggan Dawson-Farrell, Jordan Howe, Jade Jones, Rhys Jones, Andy Kaar, Samantha Kinghorn, Erin McBride, Dean Miller, Maxine Moore, Stephen Morris, Holly Neill, Mel Nicholls, Georgina Oliver, Stephen Osborne, Ben Rowlings, Will Smith, Laura Sugar, Isaac Towers, Kieran Tscherniawsky.

Top Stories