Greg Rutherford relishes role in European Team Championships

Greg Rutherford
Eleven British athletes will be making their senior international debuts in Germany

Olympic long jump champion Greg Rutherford says he is relishing being part of Britain's squad for this weekend's European Team Championships.

Britain will be led by Hannah England in Braunschweig, Germany.

Rutherford and triple jumper Phillips Idowu are the most recognisable names selected in a developmental team.

"An opportunity like this is fantastic. It's rare you get an opportunity to meet as a team in a complete sense. It's great fun," said Rutherford.

In the absence of the likes of double Olympic champion Mo Farah and world 400m champion Christine Ohuruogu, British Athletics performance director Neil Black has described Britain's squad as "developmental".

"For some people, this is their first opportunity on the senior international stage," Black told BBC Sport ahead of the two-day competition.

"It's something we've planned, to give new people a chance to explore their performances."

Black said the team, which features 11 athletes making their senior international debuts, had not set a points or medal target.

Britain were third last year, when the Championships were held in Gateshead, but Black said the aim this time around was to be competitive.

None of Britain's most recognisable male sprinters will race individually, while Asha Phillips and Sophie Papps have withdrawn from the women's 100m and 200m respectively.

Phillips Idowu
Idowu, Olympic silver medallist in 2008 and 2012, lost his lottery funding last autumn

Adam Gemili and world indoor 60m champion Richard Kilty will compete in the men's 4x100m relay and former world triple jump champion Idowu returns to international competition for the first time in two years.

The 35-year-old, who has yet to jump over 17m this year, was expected to retire after jumping infrequently in 2013 and losing his lottery funding in the autumn.

Revised GB & NI team for the European Athletics Team Championships:


100m: Daniel Talbot; 200m: James Ellington; 400m: Daniel Awde; 800m: Mukhtar Mohammed; 1500m: Charlie Grice; 3,000m: Jonathan Mellor; 5,000m: Luke Caldwell; 110m hurdles: William Sharman; 400m hurdles: Rick Yates; 3,000m steeplechase: Luke Gunn; High Jump: Chris Baker; Long Jump: Greg Rutherford; Triple Jump: Phillips Idowu; Pole Vault: Steve Lewis; Shot Put: Zane Duquemin; Discus Throw: Brett Morse; Hammer Throw: Nick Miller; Javelin: Lee Doran; 4 x 100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, James Ellington, Adam Gemili, Richard Kilty, Andrew Robertson, Daniel Talbot; 4 x 400m: Daniel Awde, Jarryd Dunn, Rory Evans, Andrew Steele, Rabah Yousif.


100m: Rachel Johncock; 200m: Anyika Onuora; 400m: Shana Cox; 800m: Jenny Meadows; 1500m: Hannah England; 3,000m: Kate Avery, 5,000m: Julia Bleasdale, 100m hurdles: Serita Solomon, 400m hurdles: Eilidh Child; 3000m steeplechase: Lennie Waite; High Jump: Isobel Pooley; Long Jump: Jazmin Sawyers; Triple Jump: Yamile Aldama; Pole Vault: Lucy Bryan; Shot Put: Rachel Wallader; Discus Throw: Jade Lally; Hammer Throw: Sophie Hitchon; Javelin: Isabelle Jeffs; 4 x 100m: Louise Bloor, Rachel Johncock, Anyika Onuora, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams; 4 x 400m: Seren Bundy-Davies, Eilidh Child, Shana Cox, Emily Diamond, Laura Wake, Jodie Williams.

Watch live coverage on BBC One and online on Saturday, 21 June from 12:15-16:00 BST and on BBC Two and online on Sunday, 22 June from 12.00-16.00 BST