David Weir: Paralympic champion opts out of lottery funding

David Weir
Weir won gold at his first Commonwealth Games this summer

British Paralympic champion David Weir has opted not to be part of the British Athletics lottery funding programme for the 2014-15 season.

The four-time London 2012 gold medallist triumphed for England at this summer's Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

Weir, 35, missed August's IPC European Championships with an arm injury.

European 10,000m champion Jo Pavey, 41, long jumper Chris Tomlinson, 33, and javelin thrower Goldie Sayers, 32, are omitted from the funding programme.

Sayers captained the Great Britain team at the European Championships in Zurich in August.

Commonwealth and European silver medallist Lynsey Sharp moves up to the Olympic podium programme, while sprinter Maria Lyle, 14, has been rewarded for her double IPC gold in Swansea with Paralymic podium funding.

The selection is based on potential to win medals at Olympic and Paralympic Games and 38 athletes are on Olympic podium funding, including Olympic relay, with 26 on the Paralympic podium and a further 39 Olympic and 26 Paralympic athletes on Podium potential.

"Competition for places on the programme is extremely competitive," said British Athletics performance director Neil Black.

"This year the selection panel faced tough performance decisions based on such stipulations in this funding cycle."

The athletes selected will be hoping to win medals at the World Championships in Beijing in August and October's IPC World Championships in Doha.

Paralympic head coach Paula Dunn told BBC Sport that Weir's decision will not have an impact on his international career.

"David is still very important to British Athletics and we have a good relationship with him," she said.

"He has a great set-up at his training base in Kingston and what he gets from the programme is minimal support so he has decided not to accept his place.

"He still wants to compete for GB and we are looking at next year's London Marathon and talking about 2016 and beyond with him."

Podium programmes


Holly Bleasdale, Lawrence Clarke, James Dasaolu, Hannah England, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Mo Farah, Adam Gemili, Robbie Grabarz, Dai Greene, Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Christine Ohuruogu, Andrew Osagie, Tiffany Porter, Andy Pozzi, Shara Proctor, Greg Rutherford, Perri Shakes-Drayton, William Sharman, Lynsey Sharp, Laura Weightman.

Olympic Relay

Mens 4x100m - Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, James Ellington, Richard Kilty

Women's 4x100m - Dina Asher-Smith, Desiree Henry, Ashleigh Nelson, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams, Jodie Williams

Men's 4x400m - Michael Bingham, Matthew Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Conrad Williams, Rabah Yousif Bkheit

Women's 4x400m - Margaret Adeoye, Eilidh Child, Shana Cox, Anyika Onuora


Hollie Arnold, Graeme Ballard, Paul Blake, Jonathan Broom-Edwards, Mickey Bushell, Jo Butterfield, Libby Clegg, Hannah Cockroft, Aled Davies, David Devine, Kyron Duke, Dan Greaves, Sophie Hahn, Bev Jones, Sophie Kamlish, Maria Lyle, Dean Miller, Stephen Miiler, Mel Nicholls, Stephen Osborne, Jonnie Peacock, Josie Pearson, Gemma Prescott, Stef Reid, Richard Whitehead, Bethany Woodward.

Podium Potential programmes


Chris Baker, Meghan Beesley, Dan Bramble, Lucy Bryan, Ashley Bryant, Chris Clarke, Luke Cutts, Mark Dry, Zane Duquemin, Tom Farrell, Niall Flannery, Emelia Gorecka, Charlie Grice, Sophie Hitchon, Chris Kandu, Jessica Judd, Morgan Lake, Jade Lally, Nick Miller, Eilish McColgan, Sophie McKinna, Mukhtar Mohammed, Laura Muir, Chris O'Hare, David Omoregie, Isobel Pooley, Leon Reid, Andrew Robertson, Sebastian Rodger, Jazmin Sawyers, Allan Smith, David Smith, Serita Solomon, Gemma Steel, Danny Talbot, Lorraine Ugen, Chijindu Ujah, Jake Wightman, Delano Williams.


Jonathan Adams, Kare Adenegan, Joshua Bain, Samantha Bowen, Olivia Breen, Dan Bramall, Richard Chiassaro, Meggan Dawson-Farrell, Toby Gold, Jordan Howe, Abbie Hunnisett, Moatez Jomni, Jade Jones, Rhys Jones, Sammi Kinghorn, Erin McBride, Maxine Moore, Stephen Morris, Holly Neill, Georgina Oliver, Ben Rowlings, Will Smith, Laura Sugar, Isaac Towers, Kieran Tscherniawsky, Bradley Wigley.