Justin Gatlin crowned Diamond League 100m champion

Gatlin wins 100m by tiny margin

Justin Gatlin was crowned overall Diamond League champion in the 100m after winning the final race of this year's series in 9.98 seconds.

Qatar's Femi Ogunode was also given the same time, but Gatlin got the nod with France's Jimmy Vicaut third in 9.99.

Briton Chijindu Ujah finished eighth in Brussels, in a time of 10.19.

American Gatlin, 33, has run personal bests for the 100m and 200m this season but finished runner-up to Usain Bolt in both events in the World Championships.

The Jamaican opted to end his season rather than run in Belgium.

Gatlin was also due to run in the 200m, but pulled out. That event was won by Ogunode in an impressive 19.97.

In one of the races of the night, Dutch 2015 world champion Dafne Schippers beat Olympic champion Allyson Felix to win the 200m in 22.12.

Briton Jodie Williams was seventh in 23.34.

Williams's compatriot, Paralympic champion Jonnie Peacock, eased to victory in the T44 100m with a time of 10.99. Germany's Felix Streng was second in 11.08, while world record holder Richard Browne was disqualified for a false start.

There was more British interest in the 100m hurdles, with Tiffany Porter taking fourth spot in 12.81 behind winner Dawn Harper-Nelson of the USA who clocked 12.63.