Rio 2016: Olympic Council of Ireland still to ratify men's marathon selection

Sergiu Ciobanu
Sergiu Ciobanu says he has been left "disgusted" by his Olympic omission

Ireland's Olympic Games governing body has not yet confirmed the men's marathon selection for Rio amid continuing controversy over Sergiu Ciobanu's omission.

The Olympic Council of Ireland ratified the women's marathon trio, including North Belfast's Breege Connolly.

However, the men's selection was not confirmed on Wednesday.

Kevin Seaward, Mick Clohisey and Paul Pollock have been nominated by Athletics Ireland.

Former Moldovan runner Ciobanu, 32, missed out on one of the three places even though he was third fastest of the Irish qualifiers for Rio.

Fourth fastest Pollock was chosen along with the two quickest qualifiers Seaward and Clohisey.

Paul Pollock
Paul Pollock was selected despite being only the fourth fastest Irish qualifier for Rio

Pollock Cardiff run swayed Athletics Ireland

Holywood runner Pollock's impressive 14th place at the World Half Marathon in March, plus his 21st spot at the World Championship marathon in 2013 led to his selection.

Ciobanu appealed against Athletics Ireland's decision but this was turned down last Friday.

The Moldovan native has the option of launching a further appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport in Lausanne while supporters of Ciobanu are also said to be ready to deliver a petition to the Irish Minister for Sport, the Olympic Council of Ireland and Athletics Ireland.

Pollock, 29, set a personal best of 2:15.38 set in the Berlin Marathon last September but that was bettered by Ciobanu in the same race who 2:15.14.

Ireland's two other qualifiers also finished ahead of Pollock in the Berlin race with Belfast man Seaward clocking 2:14:52 and Clohisey posting 2:15.35.

Clohisey then edged ahead of Ciobanu in the Irish qualification picture when he produced a time of 2:15.11 in Seville in February.

Pollock hoped to improve his marathon time in London last month but he was forced to pull out because of a foot injury.

Leitrim native Connolly has been confirmed as one of the women's marathon selections along with Lizzie Lee and Fionnuala McCormack.

Londonderry woman Aileen Reid's triathlon spot has also been ratified while Northern Ireland sailing duo Matt McGovern and Ryan Seaton are also included in the latest batch of Irish selections.

Ballyholme Yacht Club duo McGovern and Seaton will be competing in their second Olympics and said that they are "looking forward to doing our country proud".



Robert Heffernan, Brendan Boyce, Alex Wright (all 50K walk)

Lizzie Lee, Fionnuala McCormack, Breege Connolly (women's marathon)


Katie Taylor (women's 60kg)


Sanita Puspure (women's single scull)


Annalise Murphy (laser radial)

Finn Lynch (laser)

Ryan Seaton, Matt McGovern (49er)

Andrea Brewster. Saskia Tidey (49er fx)


Aileen Reid

Bryan Keane