Ireland hope to secure England Test match following ICC status change

Media playback is not supported on this device

'The drinks are on you' - Ireland celebrate gaining Test status

Ireland will hold talks with the England and Wales Cricket Board about the possibility of playing a Test at Lord's in 2019.

The Irish and Afghanistan were granted Test status by the International Cricket Council on Thursday.

Ireland have beaten England in a one-day fixture but lost at Lord's in May.

"Ireland were able to get 25,000 bums on seats, when it is not easy to sell tickets," said Cricket Ireland chief executive Warren Deutrom.

"When I sit down with [ECB counterpart] Tom Harrison I will be reminding him of [former ECB chairman] Giles Clarke referring to the 'glittering prize' of Ireland playing against England at Lord's.

"For that to be the case we need to have discussions to see how it can pan out. We do have a busy season ahead for both of us next year."

'We're almost as big as Riverdance'

Ireland and Afghanistan became the 11th and 12th Test-playing nations following Thursday's ICC announcement.

The two countries, who already have one-day and Twenty20 international status, have enjoyed notable successes against Test-playing nations in global competitions in recent years.

Deutrom praised the "part-time postmen, farmers and fabric salesmen" whose performances have helped Ireland achieve Test status.

"Cricket is arguably representative of the new Ireland like no other sport," he added.

"Globally, the visibility of this Irish national team dwarfs that of any other Irish sport and arguably any other Irish cultural export outside of Riverdance.

"In India, not many people have heard of Bono or Brian O'Driscoll, but they have heard of Kevin O'Brien and William Porterfield."

Ireland captain Porterfield said the granting of Test status was a "special day", while wicketkeeper Gary Wilson described it as "historic", adding: "Years worth of work feels like it has been recognised. Here's to the beginning."

When each nation became a full ICC member, thus gaining Test status
England (founder member)1909
Australia (founder member)1909
South Africa (founder member)1909
New Zealand1926
West Indies1926
Sri Lanka1981

Top Stories