Greg Rutherford: Long jump champion withdraws from 2017 World Championships

Greg Rutherford on the way to winning gold at London 2012
Greg Rutherford won Olympic gold at London 2012
World Athletics Championships on the BBC
Venue: London Stadium Dates: 4-13 August
Coverage: Live across BBC One and Two, BBC Radio 5 live, BBC Radio 5 live sports extra and online

Reigning long jump champion Greg Rutherford has withdrawn from next month's World Championships in London because of an ankle injury.

Rutherford, who won Olympic gold at London 2012 prior to claiming the 2015 world title, said he was "gutted".

Richard Kilty, who was selected for the 4x100m relay, has also pulled out of the event with a broken finger.

But Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers, Lennie Waite, Marc Scott and Jess Turner have been added to the GB squad.

"With an incredible start to the year in training, and very promising early season form, I have had a difficult series of setbacks as the season progressed," added Rutherford, who also won Commonwealth gold in 2014 and the European title in 2014 and 2016.

"Most recently, a badly damaged ankle ligament and a sportsman's hernia, really put paid to my plans. The injuries have taken longer to heal than we hoped, and I have been unable to even jump at all in training, let alone compete.

"I am truly gutted. That stadium is such a special place for me, I am so devastated that I won't be competing in front of the best fans in the world, in the stadium that changed my life."

"Greg is one of only a few British athletes to complete the 'Grand Slam' of medals, but that won't make missing London any easier," said Neil Black, performance director for British Athletics.

"He desperately wanted to defend his world title in front of the home crowd, but unfortunately his injury hasn't cleared up in time and the hard but sensible decision had to be made to withdraw."

Meanwhile, Proctor and Sawyers will contest the long jump, Waite will run the 3,000m steeplechase, Scott the 5,000m and Turner will be in the 400m hurdles.

The World Championships take place from 4 to 13 August at the London Stadium and an 87-strong team will represent Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The squad in full


100m: James Dasaolu, Reece Prescod, CJ Ujah

200m: Zharnel Hughes, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Danny Talbot

400m: Dwayne Cowan, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney

800m: Elliot Giles, Kyle Langford, Guy Learmonth

1500m: Josh Kerr, Chris O'Hare, Jake Wightman

5,000m: Andrew Butchart, Mo Farah, Marc Scott

10,000m: Mo Farah

3,000m steeplechase: Rob Mullett, Zak Seddon, Ieuan Thomas

110m hurdles: David King, David Omoregie, Andrew Pozzi

400m hurdles: Jack Green

High jump: Robbie Grabarz

Triple jump: Nathan Fox

Hammer: Nick Miller, Chris Bennett

Discus: Nick Percy

Decathlon: Ashley Bryant

20km race walk: Tom Bosworth, Callum Wilkinson

50km race walk: Dominic King

Marathon: Andrew Davies, Callum Hawkins, Josh Griffiths

4x100m: Harry Aikines-Aryeetey, Adam Gemili, Zharnel Hughes, Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake, Reece Prescod, Danny Talbot, CJ Ujah

4x400m: Cameron Chalmers, Dwayne Cowan, Jack Green, Matt Hudson-Smith, Martyn Rooney, Delano Williams, Rabah Yousif


100m: Desiree Henry, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip

200m: Dina Asher-Smith, Shannon Hylton, Bianca Williams

400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Anyika Onuora

800m: Shelayna Oskan-Clarke, Lynsey Sharp, Adelle Tracey

1500m: Jessica Judd, Sarah McDonald, Laura Muir, Laura Weightman

5,000m: Eilish McColgan, Laura Muir, Steph Twell

10,000m: Jessica Martin, Beth Potter, Charlotte Taylor

3,000m steeplechase: Rosie Clarke, Lennie Waite

100m hurdles: Tiffany Porter, Alicia Barrett

400m hurdles: Eilidh Doyle, Jess Turner, Meghan Beesley

High jump: Katarina Johnson-Thompson, Morgan Lake

Pole vault: Holly Bradshaw

Long jump: Shara Proctor, Jazmin Sawyers, Lorraine Ugen

Discus: Jade Lally

Hammer: Sophie Hitchon

Shot put: Rachel Wallader

Heptathlon: Katarina Johnson-Thompson

20km race walk: Gemma Bridge, Bethan Davies

Marathon: Tracy Barlow, Alyson Dixon, Charlotte Purdue

4x100m: Dina Asher-Smith, Desiree Henry, Corinne Humphreys, Shannon Hylton, Daryll Neita, Asha Philip, Bianca Williams

4x400m: Zoey Clark, Emily Diamond, Eilidh Doyle, Laviai Nielsen, Anyika Onuora, Perri Shakes-Drayton

Top Stories


Elsewhere on the BBC