Boston Marathon: Desiree Linden becomes first American woman to win Boston Marathon since 1985

Desiree Linden
Linden finished as runner-up at the Boston Marathon in 2011

Desiree Linden became the first American to win the Boston Marathon women's race in 33 years as amateur Yuki Kawauchi won the men's event.

Two-time Olympian Linden, 34, crossed the line in two hours 39 minutes 54 seconds in wet conditions.

Lisa Larsen Weidenbach had been the last American woman to win the Boston Marathon, in 1985.

Kawauchi - the first Japanese man to win in Boston since 1987 - finished in 2:15:58.

The 31-year-old finished ninth at the World Championships in London last year, having risen to prominence after finishing third at the 2011 Tokyo Marathon.

Switzerland's Marcel Hug won the men's wheelchair race for the fourth successive year while American Tatyana McFadden won her fifth women's wheelchair title.

The 2018 Boston Marathon marks five years since three people were killed when two bombs were detonated on the finish line.

Yuki Kawauchi
Japanese amateur Yuki Kawauchi became the first Japanese man to win in Boston in 31 years
Marcel Hug
Marcel Hug battled the wet conditions to win the men's wheelchair race
Boston Marathon runners
Unusually cold temperatures and rain plagued runners throughout the course

Top Stories