European Championships: Ireland pick Leon Reid pending approval from IAAF

Leon Reid has a 200m personal best of 20.27 seconds
Leon Reid has a 200m personal best of 20.27 seconds

Leon Reid has been provisionally selected to represent Ireland at next month's European Championships.

Athletics Ireland has included the sprinter, who previously represented Britain, pending the outcome of the IAAF transfer process.

The governing body has said it would try to "process applications quickly".

Northern Ireland's Ben Reynolds, Kerry O'Flaherty and Davicia Patterson have been selected for the championships in Berlin, which start on 6 August.

Belfast man Stephen Scullion has opted to run the 10,000m after also achieving the marathon standard while Emma Mitchell will also compete over the 25-lap distance in the German capital.

Paul Pollock, Kevin Seaward, Laura Graham, Gladys Ganiel and Breege Connolly were already selected for the marathon races in Berlin.

Leon Reid (right) with Zharnel Hughes immediately after the Commonwealth Games 200m final
Reid (right) crossed the line fourth in the Commonwealth Games 200m but was promoted to bronze after Zharnel Hughes' disqualification

An IAAF decision last week to remove the bar on all international transfers appeared to move the 24-year-old a significant step closer to his ambition of running for Ireland.

Bath-born Reid, 24, is now hoping that his resubmitted application, stuck in limbo for nearly 18 months, can be processed and accepted in time for him to compete in Berlin.

He showed he is maintaining the form that won him a Commonwealth Games bronze medal for Northern Ireland in April by completing the 100m and 200m sprint double at the Irish Championships in Santry at the weekend.

Afterwards he was confident of his participation in the European Championships and stated: "I'll be there."

He added: "We've re-sent the qualifications off and it's just a matter of waiting to hear back and hopefully it's all going to be good."

Kerry O'Flaherty was a controversial omission from Northern Ireland's Commonwealth Games squad in April
Kerry O'Flaherty was a controversial omission from Northern Ireland's Commonwealth Games squad in April

After the disappointment of missing out on the Commonwealth Games, Kerry O'Flaherty has earned selection in the 3,000m steeplechase. Adam McMullen (long jump), Sean Hehir (marathon), Craig Newell and Andrew Mellon (4x400m relay) are also included.

Beechmount athlete Davicia Patterson receives her first senior call-up in the 4x400m relay.

A highly-rated prospect, she reached the semi-finals of the World Under-20 400m earlier this month in Finland, and joins Catherine McManus in the relay squad.

However, Finn Valley's Sommer Lecky, who won gold in the high jump at the same championships and earned the European qualifying standard with a jump of 1.90m, has decided in conjunction with the selectors not to compete in Berlin.

Amy Foster is not named for the 100m or 4x100m relay having not raced over the last month because of injury. Foster, who has indicated that she intends to compete in 2019, has competed in four previous European Championships.

Ben Reynolds is selected despite being beaten in the Irish Championships 110m hurdles by Carrick-on-Shannon's Gerard O'Donnell.

Portaferry's Ciara Mageean, who became the first athlete to win the national 800m and 1500m double since Sonia O'Sullivan 18 years ago, will race in the 1500m in Berlin.

Ireland team for European Championships:

Men: Leon Reid (100m & 200m)*, Marcus Lawler (200m), Chris O'Donnell (400m &4x400m), Mark English (800m), Zak Curran (800m), Stephen Scullion (10,000m), Ben Reynolds (110H), Thomas Barr (400H & 4x400m), Adam McMullen (long jump), Cian McManamon (20K walk), Alex Wright (20K walk), Brendan Boyce (50K walk), Sergiu Ciobana (marathon), Mick Clohisey (marathon), Paul Pollock (marathon), Sean Hehir (marathon), Kevin Seaward (marathon), Brandon Arrey (4x400m), Craig Newell (4x400m), Andrew Mellon (4x400m), Dara Kervick (4x400m).

Women: Phil Healy (100m & & 4x100m), Gina Akpe Moses (100m & 4x100m), Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (800m), Claire Mooney (800m & 4x400m), Ciara Mageean (1500m), Emma Mitchell (10,000m), Kerry O'Flaherty (3,000m steeplechase), Michelle Finn (3,000m steeplechase), Breege Connolly (marathon), Gladys Ganiel (marathon), Laura Graham (marathon), Lizzie Lee (marathon), Ciara Neville (4x100m), Joan Healy (4x100m), Niamh Whelan (4x100m), Molly Scott (4x100m); Sophie Becker (4x400m), Sinead Denny (4x400m), Ciara Deely (4x400m), Catherine McManus (4x400m), Davicia Patterson (4x400m).

*Leon Reid selected pending IAAF clearance.

Top Stories