Irish Indoor Athletics: Adams takes victory in inaugural Craig Lynch Cup

Dean Adams
Dean Adams won the Craig Lynch Cup, the final race of the meeting

Ballymena & Antrim sprinter Dean Adams won the inaugural Craig Lynch Cup at the Irish Indoor Athletics Championships in Dublin.

Adams won the 60m race, named after late Irish athlete Craig Lynch, in a time of 6.74 seconds.

Irish 400m runner Lynch won the 60m indoor title in 2016 but lost his life in a car in a car crash in September.

Adams and Lynch were close friends and the Northern Irishman's emotion after his win was clear to see.

The Ballymena & Antrim sprinter finished 0.10 seconds ahead of Raheny's Mark Smyth with Leevale's Conor Morey a further 0.01 back in third spot.

Letterkenny runner and European indoor medallist Mark English triumphed in the men's 800m for his 13th national title.

Nadia Power won the women's event in 2:06.26 with a strong run to hold off Iseult O'Donnell (2:07.07) at the National Indoor Arena as Claire Mooney had to settle for third..

Andrew Coscoran set a championship record of 3:41.36 on his way to victory in the men's 1,500m while Louise Shannon followed in the footsteps of her father Ray by winning the women's event.

Ciara Neville won the women's 60m in a personal best of 7.30 seconds ahead of sisters Joan and Phil Healy while John Travers won the men's 3,000m race and Sophie Becker narrowly beat Sharlene Mawdsley in the women's 400m.

On Saturday, Phil Healy produced the women's performance of the weekend as she won the 200m title in a championship record of 23.16.

Cathal Crosbie edged the men's 400m ahead of Bangor's Andrew Mellon as Brian Gregan could only manage third place and Keith Marks won the men's long jump while Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games jumper Adam McMullen narrowly beaten to silver Lisburn's Ben Fisher.

Sarah Quinn and Gerard O'Donnell were convincing winners in their respective 60m hurdle races.

Craig Lynch
Irish 400m athlete Craig Lynch lost his life in a car crash in September

Top Stories

Also in NI Sport