Battle begins for Premiership glory

The Irish Premiership seasons starts on Saturday with champions Crusaders attempting to retain the Gibson Cup.

Stephen Baxter's men took the title last term ahead of runners-up Linfield and third-placed Glenavon.

Carrick Rangers return to the top flight for the first time since 2012, taking the place of relegated Institute.

Saturday's opening fixtures are:

Coleraine v Glentoran

Crusaders v Portadown

Dungannon Swifts v Carrick Rangers

Glenavon v Cliftonville

Linfield v Ballymena United

Warrenpoint Town v Ballinamallard United

Top videos

Top Stories