Spotlight on the nominee: Christine Sinclair

Portland Thorns and Canada striker Christine Sinclair is hoping to win the BBC Women's Footballer of the Year 2017 award.

Sinclair joins Germany and Bayern Munich's Melanie Behringer, Norway and Olympique Lyonnais' Ada Hegerberg, Sweden and Chelsea's Hedvig Lindahl, and Brazil and Orlando Pride's Marta on the five-player shortlist for the BBC award.

Voting has now closed but you can watch profiles of all the five nominees and read full terms here. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, 30 May during Sport Today on BBC World Service from 18:30 GMT (19:30 BST).

Top videos

Top Stories