Young BBC award panel explain choices

Former Young Sports Personality of the Year winner Amy Spencer and BBC Presenters Ore Oduba and Sonali Shah have admitted reducing the award shortlist from 10 to three people was a real challenge.

The trio were part of a judging panel which decided Lucy Garner, Eleanor Simmonds and Lauren Taylor should make up the top three contenders for the 2011 award.

Garner, the 2011 junior road race world champion, Simmonds, the two-time European gold medallist, and Taylor, the 2011 British Ladies' Open amateur champion, will have the opportunity to claim the award live on the show, which will be broadcast live from MediaCityUK, Salford, on Thursday 22 December.

Top videos

Top Stories