Badminton: Kirsty Gilmour top seed for Scottish Open Grand Prix

Hamilton's Kirsty Gilmour
Gilmour reached the 2013 final
Scottish Open Grand Prix
Venue: Emirates Arena, Glasgow Dates: 18-22 November
Coverage: Reports on BBC Sport website, updates on BBC Radio Scotland

Kirsty Gilmour, Great Britain's top women's singles player, will be the number one seed at the Scottish Open Grand Prix in Glasgow next month.

Gilmour, 22, was made favourite by the Badminton World Federation after wins at the Forza Prague International and Yonex Dutch Open.

The world number 24 was runner-up in 2013 and reached the semis last year.

Gilmour, from Hamilton, said: "It's always a treat to play in Glasgow. I look forward to it every year."

The competition, which begins on 18 November and features 278 players from 37 nations, will be held at the Emirates Arena, where Gilmour won a silver medal at the Commonwealth Games last year.

Her main rivals for the women's singles title are likely to be Spain's second seed and 2014 runner-up Beatriz Corrales and third seed Karin Schnaase, the German player she defeated to win the Dutch title.

Badminton Scotland chief executive Anne Smillie said: "We are delighted with the quality of the entry, but I am especially pleased that Kirsty is top seed in the singles.

Kieran Merrilees
Glasgow's Kieran Merrilees is Scotland's hope in the men's singles event

"It is a reflection of all the hard work she has put in recently and that has been rewarded by her successes in the last four weeks, particularly in winning her first Grand Prix title in Holland."

Gilmour is the only Scot seeded across the five draws, but promising youngster Adam Hall and Eleanor O'Donnell are top qualifying seeds in the mixed doubles, while Ben Torrance, who was originally top seed in the men's singles qualifying, has moved up into the main draw.

Julie MacPherson has been promoted from the reserve list to join Holly Newall in the women's singles qualifying.

Kieran Merrilees will once again lead Scotland's men's singles challenge, with two-time champion Rajiv Ouseph, of England, being second seed behind Denmark's Hans-Kristian Vittinghus.

In the men's doubles, India's Manu Attri and B Sumeeth Reddy, who have reached five finals this season and won the Belgium International title, are top seeds ahead of England pair Chris Langridge and Marcus Ellis.

Defending champions Gabriela and Stefani Stoeva are top women's doubles seeds, with Germany's Carla Nelte and Johanna Goliszewski being number two seeds and last year's runners-up, Heather Olver and Lauren Smith, of England, at number three.

In the mixed doubles, Germany's world number 14s, Michael Fuchs and Birgit Michels, will start as favourites as Fuchs looks to add to his 2008 title triumph with Annekatrin Lillie.

Last year's men's doubles winner, Mathias Christiansen, is also among the seeds with his Danish partner, Lena Grebak, and Poland's former European champions, Robert Mateusiak and Nadiezda Zieba, will also be strong contenders.

Top Stories