Suresh Raina to lead India in West Indies one-dayers

Suresh Raina
Raina previously led India in a tri-series in Zimbabwe

Batsman Suresh Raina will captain India in the one-day leg of their forthcoming tour of the West Indies.

The Indian board had already opted to rest regular skipper Mahendra Dhoni from the one-dayers, but his stand-in Gautam Gambhir has now been ruled out with a shoulder injury.

All-rounder Yuvraj Singh misses out with a lung infection.

Meanwhile, legendary batsman Sachin Tendulkar, already rested for the one-dayers, has opted out of the Tests.

It means his next chance to score his 100th international century - he has 51 in Tests and 48 in one-day matches - will come during their tour of England, which begins in July.

Also unavailable for the Tests is Cheteshwar Pujara, who picked up a knee injury in the Indian Premier League, and fellow batsman Virender Sehwag, who is still recovering from shoulder surgery but hopes to tour England.

India's tour of West Indies begins with a Twenty20 international in Trinidad on 4 June, and features five one-day internationals and three Tests, before they head straight to England for four Tests, a Twenty20 game and five ODIs.

Raina, 24, captained India in four one-day fixtures last year, when he led a similarly weakened side, with several senior players missing, in a triangular series against Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka.

India one-day squad for West Indies: Suresh Raina (capt), Harbhajan Singh (vice capt), Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Munat Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary.

India Test squad for West Indies: Mahendra Dhoni (capt & wk), VVS Laxman (vice capt), Subramaniam Badrinath, Rahul Dravid, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Virat Kohli, Amit Mishra, Abhinav Mukund, Pragyan Ojha, Munaf Patel, Parthiv Patel (wk), Suresh Raina, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Murali Vijay.

Top Stories