England lead way in ICC Team of the Year

Jonathan Trott
Trott - and team-mate Graeme Swann - are nominated in all three main categories

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has named five England players in its Team of the Year.

Batsman Alastair Cook and Jonathan Trott were joined by all-rounder Stuart Broad, fast bowler James Anderson and spinner Graeme Swann.

The side was picked by a selection panel chaired by West Indies batting great Clive Lloyd.

"The selection was a difficult one with so many worthy candidates available to fill just 12 places," he said.

"The team has a formidable line-up that bats well down the order and has bowlers with the ability and form to dismiss any opposition twice on any surface."

South African paceman Dale Steyn was selected for a fourth year in a row, while Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar made his third successive appearance in the line-up.

Cook, Trott, Hashim Amla of South Africa and reigning award-holder Tendulkar have also been shortlisted for the ICC Cricketer of the Year award, which will be presented in London on 12 September.

The England pair also made the shortlist for the ICC Test Player of the Year award, alongside team-mate Anderson and South Africa's Jacques Kallis.

ICC Test Team of the Year

Alastair Cook (England), Hashim Amla (South Africa), Jonathan Trott (England), Sachin Tendulkar (India), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka - wkt/capt), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Stuart Broad (England), Graeme Swann (England), Dale Steyn (South Africa), James Anderson (England), Zaheer Khan (India - 12th man).

Top Stories